IC 4-37-3

Chapter 3. Members and Organization

IC 4-37-3-1

Board: members: criteria

- Sec. 1. The corporation is governed by a board of trustees that consists of the following members:
 - (1) Thirteen (13) persons appointed by the governor who are voting members. The governor's appointments must meet the following criteria:
 - (A) Each member must be a resident of Indiana.
 - (B) Not more than two (2) members may reside in the same county.
 - (C) At least one (1) member must be a recognized supporter of historic sites.
 - (D) Not more than seven (7) members may be from the same political party.
 - (2) Twelve (12) persons appointed by the board who are voting members. The board's appointments must meet the following criteria:
 - (A) Each member must be a resident of Indiana.
 - (B) Not more than two (2) members may reside in the same county.
 - (C) At least one (1) member must be a recognized supporter of historic sites.
 - (D) Not more than six (6) members may be from the same political party.
 - (3) The following persons serve as nonvoting members of the board:
 - (A) The chief executive officer.
 - (B) The governor or the governor's designee.
 - (C) One (1) member of the house of representatives appointed by the chairman of the legislative council.
 - (D) One (1) member of the senate appointed by the chairman of the legislative council.
 - (E) The director of the department of natural resources or the director's designee.

The members appointed under clauses (C) and (D) must be from different political parties and serve at the pleasure of the chairman of the legislative council.

As added by P.L.167-2011, SEC.1.

IC 4-37-3-2

Term; reappointment; vacancy

- Sec. 2. (a) The members appointed in section 1 of this chapter:
 - (1) begin their terms July 1;
 - (2) shall serve for terms of three (3) years; and
 - (3) may be reappointed or replaced by the appointing authority, but may not serve more than three (3) consecutive terms.
- (b) A member appointed under this section to fill a vacancy shall

fill the vacancy for the remainder of the unexpired term.

(c) Each member shall continue to serve until the member's successor is appointed and qualified. *As added by P.L.167-2011, SEC.1.*

IC 4-37-3-3

Chair; board officers

- Sec. 3. (a) The governor shall appoint the chair of the board, who shall serve for a one (1) year term or until the governor appoints a successor.
- (b) The board shall elect a vice chair, secretary, and treasurer for a term of two (2) years each.

As added by P.L.167-2011, SEC.1.

IC 4-37-3-4

Quorum; procedures

- Sec. 4. (a) Thirteen (13) voting members of the board constitute a quorum.
- (b) The board shall adopt bylaws establishing procedures for the board.

As added by P.L.167-2011, SEC.1.

IC 4-37-3-5

Board liability

Sec. 5. Board members are not liable in an individual capacity for any act done or omitted in connection with the performance of duties under this article. This section does not apply to an act or omission that constitutes gross negligence or willful misconduct.

As added by P.L.167-2011, SEC.1.

IC 4-37-3-6

Per diem; expenses

- Sec. 6. (a) Each member of the board who is not a state employee is entitled to the minimum salary per diem provided by IC 4-10-11-2.1(b). The member is also entitled to reimbursement for traveling expenses as provided under IC 4-13-1-4 and for other expenses actually incurred in connection with the member's duties as provided in the state policies and procedures established by the Indiana department of administration and approved by the budget agency.
- (b) Each member of the board who is a state employee but who is not a member of the general assembly is entitled to reimbursement for traveling expenses as provided under IC 4-13-1-4 and for other expenses actually incurred in connection with the member's duties as provided in the state policies and procedures established by the Indiana department of administration and approved by the budget agency.
- (c) Each member of the board who is a member of the general assembly is entitled to receive the same per diem, mileage, and travel allowances paid to legislative members of interim study committees

established by the legislative council. Per diem, mileage, and travel allowances paid under this subsection shall be paid from appropriations made to the legislative council or the legislative services agency.

As added by P.L.167-2011, SEC.1.