260.857 Kentucky Industrial Hemp Commission -- Membership.

The Kentucky Industrial Hemp Commission is created and is attached to the Department of Agriculture for administrative purposes. The membership of the commission shall consist of at least seventeen (17) members as follows:

- (1) The Speaker of the House of Representatives or the Speaker's designee;
- (2) The President of the Senate or the President's designee;
- (3) The chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee;
- (4) The chair of the House Agriculture and Small Business Committee;
- (5) The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture or the Commissioner's designee;
- (6) The commissioner of the Department of Kentucky State Police or the commissioner's designee;
- (7) The executive director of the Governor's Office of Agricultural Policy or the executive director's designee;
- (8) The chairs of the agriculture departments at the Kentucky university or universities where the industrial hemp research program is to be established;
- (9) The president of the Kentucky Hemp Growers Cooperative Association;
- (10) The president of the Kentucky Sheriffs' Association;
- (11) The president of the Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police; and
- (12) Six (6) members, three (3) appointed by the Speaker of the House and three (3) by the President of the Senate, representing the following interests:
 - (a) Kentucky farmers with an interest in growing industrial hemp;
 - (b) Retailers of industrial hemp products;
 - (c) Wholesalers of industrial hemp products; and
 - (d) Manufacturers of industrial hemp products.

Effective: June 25, 2009

History: Amended 2009 Ky. Acts ch. 32, sec. 3, effective June 25, 2009. -- Amended 2007 Ky. Acts ch. 85, sec. 278, effective June 26, 2007. -- Created 2001 Ky. Acts ch. 138, sec. 4, effective June 21, 2001.