171.814 Underground Railroad Advisory Council -- Members -- Duties --Meetings.

An Underground Railroad Advisory Council shall be established within the commission.

- (1) The council shall consist of thirteen (13) members, as follows:
 - (a) Secretary of the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet, or designee;
 - (b) Secretary of the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet, or designee;
 - (c) Secretary of the Transportation Cabinet, or designee;
 - (d) Director of the Kentucky Historical Society, or designee;
 - (e) State historic preservation officer of the Kentucky Heritage Council, or designee;
 - (f) Chair of the commission or designee;
 - (g) Director of the Underground Railroad Institute at Georgetown College, or designee;
 - (h) Two (2) members of the General Assembly who hold an interest in the Underground Railroad, one (1) appointed by the President of the Senate and one (1) appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;
 - Two (2) at-large representatives who hold an interest in the protection, preservation, and promotion of the history of the Underground Railroad in Kentucky, appointed by the Governor;
 - (j) One (1) member of the board or staff of the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center who resides within a county of the Northern Kentucky Area Development District; and
 - (k) One (1) member of the board or staff of the National Underground Railroad Museum who resides within a county of the Buffalo Trace Area Development District.
- (2) The duties of the council shall be to:
 - (a) Advise and assist the commission with respect to issues and opportunities related to the Underground Railroad; and
 - (b) Annually review and make recommendations to the commission on the annual report and plan for future action.
- Members of the council shall be appointed for four (4) year terms, except that initial appointments for the two (2) at-large members shall be made so that one (1) member is appointed for two (2) years, and one (1) member is appointed for three (3) years. Sitting members shall be eligible for reappointment.
- (4) The chair of the commission shall serve as chair of the council.
- (5) The council shall meet annually or more frequently at the request of the chair.
- (6) Six (6) members shall constitute a quorum for conducting business.
- (7) In the event of a vacancy, the appropriate appointing entity shall appoint a replacement member who shall hold office during the remainder of the term so vacated.
- (8) Members of the council shall serve without compensation.

Effective: June 25, 2009

- History: Amended 2009 Ky. Acts ch. 11, sec. 57, effective June 25. 2009; and ch. 16, sec. 50, effective June 25, 2009. -- Amended 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 211, sec. 113, effective July 12, 2006. -- Amended 2005 Ky. Acts ch. 95, sec. 38, effective June 20, 2005. -- Created 2003 Ky. Acts ch. 11, sec. 3, effective June 24, 2003.
- **Legislative Research Commission Note** (6/25/2009). This section was amended by 2009 Ky. Acts chs. 11 and 16, which do not appear to be in conflict and have been codified together.