## 246.120 State Board of Agriculture.

- (1) The board shall consist of fourteen (14) members as follows:
  - (a) The commissioner who shall be a voting member and serve as chairman;
  - (b) The director of the agricultural experiment station who shall be a voting member and serve as vice chairman;
  - (c) Nine (9) citizens of the Commonwealth appointed by the Governor who shall serve as voting members;
  - (d) The state president of the Future Farmers of America who shall serve as a nonvoting member;
  - (e) The state president of the Young Farmers of America who shall serve as a nonvoting member; and
  - (f) The state president of the 4-H Club who shall serve as a nonvoting member.
- (2) The nine (9) voting members from the state at large shall be experienced and practical farmers or agriculturalists. No more than five (5) of the nine (9) shall belong to the same political party.
- (3) Upon the expiration of the term of each member of the board, and every four(4) years thereafter, the Governor shall appoint a successor.
- (4) The board shall be a body corporate under the corporate name "State Board of Agriculture" and shall have the usual corporate powers.

Effective: July 15, 1994

History: Amended 1994 Ky. Acts ch. 122, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1994. --Amended 1960 Ky. Acts ch. 122, sec. 1, effective March 25, 1960. -- Recodified 1942 Ky. Acts ch. 208, sec. 1, effective October 1, 1942, from Ky. Stat. secs. 37-2, 37-3.