350.035 Department for Natural Resources -- Divisions -- Appointment of special investigations officers.

- (1) There is established within the cabinet a Department for Natural Resources which shall be headed by a commissioner appointed by the secretary with the approval of the Governor as required by KRS 12.050. The secretary may divide the department into a Division of Mine Reclamation and Enforcement, Division of Mine Permits, Division of Abandoned Mine Lands, and any other offices or divisions as the secretary may deem necessary to perform the functions, powers, and duties of the department, subject to the provisions of KRS Chapter 12.
- (2) The secretary shall have the power to appoint not more than fifteen (15) special investigations officers who shall be peace officers except for purposes of KRS 527.020. Such peace officers shall be responsible for enforcement of the provisions of this chapter relating to criminal offenses.

Effective: June 20, 2005

History: Amended 2005 Ky. Acts ch. 123, sec. 52, effective June 20, 2005. -- Amended 1982 Ky. Acts ch. 150, sec. 2, effective July 15, 1982. -- Amended 1980 Ky. Acts ch. 377, sec. 2, effective May 18, 1982. -- Amended 1978 Ky. Acts ch. 332, sec. 2, effective June 17, 1978. -- Amended 1972 (1st. Extra. Sess.) Ky. Acts ch. 3, sec. 63.. -- Amended 1966 Ky. Acts ch. 4, sec. 5. -- Created 1956 (1st Extra. Sess.) Ky. Acts ch. 7, Art. VII, sec. 3.