65.7623 Kentucky 911 Services Board.

- There is hereby created the Kentucky 911 Services Board, the "board," consisting of (1)fifteen (15) members, eleven (11) of whom shall be voting members appointed by the Governor, two (2) of whom shall be voting members who shall serve by virtue of their offices, and two (2) shall be nonvoting legislative members, as follows: two (2) members shall be employed by or representative of the interest of CMRS providers, of which, one (1) shall be a representative of a Tier III CMRS provider; two (2) members serving as city officials, one (1) of which shall be an elected city official, from a list of four (4) nominees submitted by the Kentucky League of Cities; two (2) members serving as county officials, both of which shall be elected county officials, from a list of four (4) nominees submitted by the Kentucky Association of Counties; one (1) member shall be appointed from a list of local exchange landline telephone companies' representatives submitted by the Kentucky Telephone Association; one (1) member shall be a director of a certified public safety answering point operated by a local governmental entity or a consolidated group of local governmental entities appointed from lists of candidates submitted to the Governor by the Kentucky Firefighters Association, the State Association of Chiefs of Police, the Kentucky Sheriff's Association, and the Kentucky Ambulance Providers Association; two (2) members shall be appointed from lists of candidates submitted to the Governor by the Kentucky Emergency Number Association and the Association of Public Communications Officials; one (1) member shall be a director of a certified public safety answering point operated by a local government entity or a consolidated group of local governmental entities; and two (2) nonvoting legislative members to serve solely in advisory capacities for terms of two (2) years, one (1) of whom shall be a member of the House of Representatives to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and one (1) of whom shall be a member of the Senate to be appointed by the President of the Senate. The commissioner of the Department of Kentucky State Police, or the commissioner's designee, and the executive director of the Office of Homeland Security, or the executive director's designee, also shall be voting members of the board. Any vacancy on the board shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment.
- (2) The commissioner of the Department of Kentucky State Police and the executive director of the Office of Homeland Security shall serve by virtue of their offices. The other nonlegislative members shall be appointed by the Governor for a term of four (4) years and until their successors are appointed and qualified, except that of the first appointments, one (1) shall be for a term of one (1) year, one (1) shall be for a term of two (2) years, one (1) for a term of three (3) years, and two (2) shall be for a term of four (4) years. Any member missing three (3) consecutive meetings may be removed by a majority vote of the remaining voting members.
- (3) The board shall elect a chair from among its voting members to preside over meetings of the board, which shall be conducted at least four (4) times each year. The board shall be subject to the provisions of the Kentucky Open Meetings Act, KRS 61.805 to 61.850. The board shall establish a regular meeting schedule for each calendar year. The board shall hold at least two (2) meetings per calendar year

in congressional districts other than the one in which Frankfort is located, and shall rotate its traveling meeting locations among the congressional districts before holding another traveling meeting in the same congressional district. A majority of the voting members appointed to the board shall constitute a quorum.

- (4) In addition to the administrator appointed by the board under KRS 65.7625, the Kentucky Office of Homeland Security shall provide staff services and carry out administrative duties and functions as directed by the board. The board shall be attached to the Kentucky Office of Homeland Security for administrative purposes only and shall operate as an independent entity within state government.
- (5) The board members shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed in accordance with KRS 45.101 for expenses incurred in connection with their official duties as members of the board.
- (6) All administrative costs and expenses incurred in the operation of the board, including payments under subsection (5) of this section, shall be paid from that portion of the CMRS fund that is authorized under KRS 65.7631(2) to be used by the board for administrative purposes.

Effective: July 15, 2016

- History: Amended 2016 Ky. Acts ch. 111, sec. 5, effective July 15, 2016. -- Amended 2014 Ky. Acts ch. 92, sec. 31, effective January 1, 2015. -- Amended 2007 Ky. Acts ch. 85, sec. 140, effective June 26, 2007. -- Amended 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 193, sec. 13, effective July 12, 2006; and ch. 219, sec. 2, effective July 12, 2006. -- Amended 2005 Ky. Acts ch. 85, sec. 93, effective June 20, 2005. -- Amended 2000 Ky. Acts ch. 506, sec. 18, effective July 14, 2000; and ch. 536, sec. 18, effective July 14, 2000; and ch. 535, sec. 2, effective July 15, 1998.
- **Legislative Research Commission Note** (7/12/2006). 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 193, sec. 14, instructs the Reviser of Statutes to correct statutory references to agencies, subagencies, and officers whose names have been changed in 2006 legislation confirming the reorganization of the executive branch. Such a correction has been made in this section.