100.133 Planning commission -- Members, appointment -- Qualifications.

- (1) Before a planning unit may engage in planning operations, a planning commission shall be appointed for the unit in conformance with an adopted agreement.
- (2) A planning commission shall consist of at least five (5), but not more than twenty (20) members.
- (3) The Governor shall have the privilege of appointing a member to the commission to which the capital city belongs in addition to the number of members specified for that planning commission.
- (4) Where extraterritorial jurisdiction is exercised for subdivision regulations or other regulations, the county judge/executive of each affected county may appoint a member to the planning commission of the planning unit exercising such jurisdiction in addition to the number of members specified for that planning commission.
- (5) At least two-thirds (2/3) of the members of every planning commission shall be citizen members.
- (6) A regional planning commission shall include at least one (1) citizen member from each joint planning unit who is also a member of the joint planning commission.
- (7) If one (1) city only joins with one (1) county, then each shall have equal representation.
- (8) Except as provided in KRS 100.137, at least one (1) of the county representatives of the planning commission of a joint planning unit containing a county with an unincorporated area population exceeding one thousand (1,000) persons shall be a resident of the unincorporated area of that county.
- (9) Whenever this chapter requires a city without its consent to belong to a joint planning unit, then KRS 100.137 shall apply.

Effective: July 14, 1992

History: Amended 1992 Ky. Acts ch. 268, sec. 1, effective July 14, 1992. -- Amended 1986 Ky. Acts ch. 141, sec. 4, effective July 15, 1986. -- Amended 1984 Ky. Acts ch. 153, sec. 1, effective July 13, 1984. -- Created 1966 Ky. Acts ch. 172, secs. 8 and 9.