148.0221 Definitions for KRS 148.0221 to 148.0225.

As used in KRS 148.0221 to 148.0225, unless the context requires otherwise:

- (1) "Authority" or "KMRRA" means the Kentucky Mountain Regional Recreation Authority established in KRS 148.0222;
- (2) "Board" means the board of directors of KMRRA;
- (3) "County" means a county, charter county, urban-county government, unified local government, or consolidated local government;
- (4) "Kentucky Mountain Recreational Area" or "KMRA" means lands on which there is a system of recreational trails, including streams, rivers, and other waterways, and appurtenant facilities, including trailhead centers, parking areas, camping facilities, picnic areas, recreational areas, historic or cultural interpretive sites, and other facilities in Kentucky and designated by the KMRRA as a part of the KMRA;
- (5) "Land" means roads, water, watercourses, buildings, structures, and machinery or equipment thereon when attached to the realty;
- (6) "Landowner" means a tenant, lessee, occupant, or person in control of the premises;
- (7) "Participating county" means a county that has qualified under KRS 148.0222(5);
- (8) "Participating landowner" means a landowner who owns land in a participating county and has a contractual agreement with the KMRA for trail development as part of the KMRA;
- (9) "Recreational purposes" means all-terrain vehicle riding, bicycling, canoeing, hiking, horseback riding, hunting, kayaking, motorcycle riding, rock climbing, fishing, swimming, archaeological activities, nature study, off-highway vehicle driving, pleasure driving, watersports, winter sports, visiting or viewing historical or scenic sites, and otherwise using land for purposes pertaining to recreation or trail activities; and
- (10) "Target county" means Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Clinton, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Greenup, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Wayne, Whitley, or Wolfe County.

Effective: June 27, 2019

History: Amended 2019 Ky. Acts ch. 170, sec. 1, effective June 27, 2019. -- Amended 2018 Ky. Acts ch. 124, sec. 4, effective July 14, 2018. -- Created 2017 Ky. Acts ch. 164, sec. 3, effective June 29, 2017.