304.2-020 Commissioner of insurance -- Appointment, term -- Divisions within department.

- (1) The commissioner is the head of the Department of Insurance.
- (2) The commissioner shall be appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Senate, for a term not to exceed four (4) years on the basis of his or her merit and fitness to perform the duties of the office as provided in KRS 12.040. If the Senate is not in session when a term expires or a vacancy occurs, the Governor shall make the appointment to take effect at once, subject to the approval of the Senate when convened. Nothing contained in this subsection shall prohibit the commissioner of the Department of Insurance from being reappointed.
- (3) The following divisions are established within the Department of Insurance and shall be headed by directors appointed by the secretary of the Public Protection Cabinet with the approval of the Governor in accordance with KRS 12.050:
 - (a) Division of Insurance Product Regulation;
 - (b) Division of Administrative Services;
 - (c) Division of Financial Standards and Examination;
 - (d) Division of Agent Licensing;
 - (e) Division of Insurance Fraud Investigation; and
 - (f) Division of Consumer Protection.

Effective: June 27, 2019

History: Amended 2019 Ky. Acts ch. 90, sec. 27, effective June 27, 2019. -- Amended 2017 Ky. Acts ch. 94, sec. 2, effective June 29, 2017. -- Amended 2010 Ky. Acts ch. 24, sec. 914, effective July 15, 2010. -- Amended 2005 Ky. Acts ch. 123, sec. 30, effective June 20, 2005. -- Amended 1994 Ky. Acts ch. 496, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1994. -- Created 1970 Ky. Acts ch. 301, subtit. 2, sec. 2, effective June 18, 1970.