65.7623 Kentucky 911 Services Board -- Members -- Expenses -- Budget --Advisory council.

- (1) There is hereby created the Kentucky 911 Services Board, the "board," consisting of seven (7) members as follows:
 - (a) The executive director of the Office of Homeland Security;
 - (b) The secretary of the Public Protection Cabinet;
 - (c) One (1) elected city official of a city government appointed by the Kentucky League of Cities;
 - (d) One (1) elected county official of a county government appointed by the Kentucky Association of Counties;
 - (e) One (1) director of a certified PSAP operated by a local government entity or a consolidated group of local government entities who previously served on the 911 Services Advisory Council and is not an elected official, to be appointed jointly by the Kentucky Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials and the Kentucky Emergency Number Association;
 - (f) One (1) member representative of a county or city government appointed by the Governor from a list of three (3) names submitted by the Kentucky League of Cities or Kentucky Association of Counties. The Kentucky League of Cities and the Kentucky Association of Counties shall alternate in providing a list of names to the Governor every two (2) years, and the selected member representative shall serve for a two (2) year term and may be an elected city or county official; and
 - (g) One (1) member appointed by the Governor who shall be employed by or representative of the interest of CMRS providers. The member representing the interests of CMRS providers shall serve for a two (2) year term, and shall alternate between representing a Tier I provider and a Tier III provider.
- (2) The executive director of the Office of Homeland Security and secretary of the Public Protection Cabinet shall serve by virtue of their offices. The members appointed under subsection (1)(c) to (e) of this section shall be appointed for a term of four (4) years and until their successors are appointed and qualified. Members appointed under subsection (1)(f) and (g) of this section shall serve for a term of two (2) years. Members appointed under subsection (1)(c) to (g) of this section may only serve as long as the appointee holds the office or position he or she held at the time of his or her appointment. Any vacancy on the board shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment and shall be for the remainder of the unexpired term.
- (3) No member of the board shall be held to be a public officer by reason of membership on the board. The elected city and county officials appointed under subsection (1) of this section shall each serve on the board in an ex officio voting capacity by virtue of their respective elected offices as long as they continue to occupy their local elected positions during their term as a board member. Their duties as members of the board shall be an extension of their duties as local elected officials and their service on the board shall not constitute the holding of a separate

and distinct public office apart from their respective local elected positions.

- (4) The executive director of the Office of Homeland Security shall serve as chair and preside over meetings of the board, which shall be conducted at least four (4) times each year. In the absence of the executive director of the Office of Homeland Security, the board may be chaired by any other member of the board selected by the remaining members. The board shall be subject to the provisions of the Kentucky Open Meetings Act, KRS 61.805 to 61.850. The board shall establish a regular meeting schedule for each calendar year. The board shall hold at least two (2) meetings per calendar year in congressional districts other than the one in which Frankfort is located, and shall rotate its traveling meeting locations among the congressional district. A majority of the members appointed to the board shall constitute a quorum.
- (5) In addition to the administrator appointed by the executive director of the Office of Homeland Security under KRS 65.7625, the Office of Homeland Security shall provide staff services, office space, and other resources necessary to conduct its affairs. The board shall be attached to the Office of Homeland Security for administrative purposes but shall operate as an independent entity within state government.
- (6) The board members shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed in accordance with KRS 45.101 for expenses incurred in connection with their official duties as members of the board.
- (7) All administrative costs and expenses incurred in the operation of the board, including payments under subsections (5) and (6) of this section and KRS 65.7625, shall be paid as reimbursement to the Office of Homeland Security from that portion of the CMRS fund that is authorized under KRS 65.7631(2) to be used by the board for administrative purposes. Expenses for personnel, equipment, or facilities that serve multiple functions or purposes shall be prorated. Only those costs for services directly involved in the coordination and administration of duties related to the CMRS emergency telecommunications function shall be eligible for payment using the funds provided in KRS 65.7631(2).
- (8) Prior to June 1 of each year, the Office of Homeland Security shall submit a budget detailing all projected administrative and operational expenses for the subsequent fiscal year to be used by the board in establishing the board's budget for the upcoming fiscal year.
- (9) The board shall be advised by a permanent advisory council with members appointed by the executive director of the Office of Homeland Security. The members of the advisory council shall represent the interests of the 911 community and shall, at a minimum, include a representative from each of the following organizations:
 - (a) 1. The Department of Kentucky State Police;
 - 2. The Kentucky Sheriffs' Association;
 - 3. The Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police;

- 4. The Kentucky Fire Chiefs Association;
- 5. The Kentucky Ambulance Providers Association;
- 6. The Kentucky League of Cities;
- 7. The Kentucky Association of Counties;
- 8. The Department of Criminal Justice Training; and
- 9. The Kentucky Board of Emergency Medical Services;
- (b) The Kentucky Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials and the Kentucky Emergency Number Association, each appointed by the executive director of the Office of Homeland Security from a list of three (3) names submitted by both organizations; and
- (c) Any other members selected by the executive director who are familiar with PSAPs, public finances, shared governmental services, emergency management, community crisis response preparation, or the interests of 911 service stakeholders.

Effective: July 14, 2018

- History: Amended 2018 Ky. Acts ch. 138, sec. 1, effective July 14, 2018. -- Amended 2016 Ky. Acts ch. 111, sec. 5, effective July 15, 2016. -- Amended 2014 Ky. Acts ch. 92, sec. 31, effective January 1, 2015. -- Amended 2007 Ky. Acts ch. 85, sec. 140, effective June 26, 2007. -- Amended 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 193, sec. 13, effective July 12, 2006; and ch. 219, sec. 2, effective July 12, 2006. -- Amended 2005 Ky. Acts ch. 85, sec. 93, effective June 20, 2005. -- Amended 2000 Ky. Acts ch. 506, sec. 18, effective July 14, 2000; and ch. 536, sec. 18, effective July 14, 2000. -- Created 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 535, sec. 2, effective July 15, 1998.
- **Legislative Research Commission Note** (7/12/2006). 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 193, sec. 14, instructs the Reviser of Statutes to correct statutory references to agencies, subagencies, and officers whose names have been changed in 2006 legislation confirming the reorganization of the executive branch. Such a correction has been made in this section.