11A.060 Executive Branch Ethics Commission -- Membership -- Officers --Compensation -- Removal -- Meetings.

- (1) The Executive Branch Ethics Commission is hereby established.
- (2) The commission shall be composed of seven (7) members, two (2) of whom shall be appointed by the Governor. Each of the following shall appoint one (1) member of the commission:
 - (a) Treasurer;
 - (b) Auditor of Public Accounts;
 - (c) Commissioner of Agriculture;
 - (d) Secretary of State; and
 - (e) Attorney General.
- (3) On July 14, 2022, the terms of the existing members of the commission shall terminate and seven (7) new initial members shall be appointed by the officials listed under subsection (2) of this section. Members of the commission shall serve staggered terms of four (4) years. Of the initial members appointed as provided in this section, one (1) member shall serve a term of one (1) year and shall be appointed by the Treasurer, one (1) member shall serve a term of two (2) years and shall be appointed by the Auditor of Public Accounts, two (2) members shall serve a term of three (3) years, one (1) of whom shall be appointed by the Governor and one (1) of whom shall be appointed for terms of four (4) years, one (1) of whom shall be appointed by the Secretary of State, and one (1) of whom shall be appointed by the Attorney General. Thereafter, all appointments shall be for staggered terms of four (4) years.
- (4) The commission shall every two (2) years elect from its membership a chair and vice chair. In the absence of the chair or in the event of a vacancy in that position, the vice chair shall serve as chair.
- (5) A member of the commission shall receive one hundred dollars (\$100) per day for attending meetings and shall be reimbursed for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of duties.
- (6) All members shall be registered voters of the state.
- (7) Members of the commission shall be removed by the appointing authority who appointed him or her for cause only, including substantial neglect of duty and inability to discharge the powers and duties of office.
- (8) A quorum shall consist of four (4) or more members. An affirmative vote of four (4) or more members shall be necessary for commission action.
- (9) The commission shall meet at the call of the chair or a majority of its members.
- (10) The commission shall be attached to the Finance and Administration Cabinet for administrative purposes only.
- (11) The commission shall not be reorganized except by statute.

Effective: July 14, 2022

```
History: Amended 2022 Ky. Acts ch. 203, sec. 2, effective July 14, 2022. -- Amended
```

2009 Ky. Acts ch. 12, sec. 17, effective June 25, 2009. -- Amended 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 602, sec. 3, effective July 15, 1998. -- Amended 1994 Ky. Acts ch. 208, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1994. - Created 1992 Ky. Acts ch. 287, sec. 8, effective July 14, 1992.