151B.015 Education and Labor Cabinet -- Established -- Major organizational units.

- (1) The Education and Labor Cabinet is hereby created, which shall constitute a cabinet of the state government within the meaning of KRS Chapter 12. The cabinet shall consist of a secretary and those administrative bodies and employees as provided by law.
- (2) Subject to KRS Chapter 12, the cabinet shall be composed of the major organizational units listed below, units listed in KRS 12.020, and other departments, divisions, and sections as are from time to time deemed necessary for the proper and efficient operation of the cabinet:
 - (a) Office of the Secretary, which shall include the Office of Legal Services, the Office of Administrative Services, the Office of Technology Services, the Office of Policy and Audit, the Office of Legislative Services, the Office of Communications, and the Office of Kentucky Center for Statistics, as follows:
 - 1. The Office of Legal Services shall:
 - a. Be headed by an executive director appointed by the secretary with the approval of the Governor in accordance with KRS 12.050 and 12.210; and
 - b. Include the Workplace Standards Legal Division, Workforce Development Legal Division, and Workers' Claims Legal Division, each of which shall be headed by a general counsel appointed by the secretary with the approval of the Governor in accordance with KRS 12.050 and 12.210; and
 - 2. The following agencies and entities are attached to the Office of the Secretary for administrative purposes only:
 - a. Early Childhood Advisory Council;
 - b. Governor's School for Entrepreneurs Program;
 - c. Governor's Scholar Program;
 - d. Board of the Kentucky Center for Statistics; and
 - e. Foundation for Adult Education;
 - (b) Department of Workers' Claims, which shall be headed by a commissioner appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate in accordance with KRS 342.228. The department shall be divided for administrative purposes into the Office of Administrative Law Judges, the Division of Claims Processing, the Division of Security and Compliance, the Division of Workers' Compensation Funds, and the Division of Specialist and Medical Services. The Office of Administrative Law Judges shall be headed by a chief administrative law judge appointed in accordance with KRS 342.230. Each division in the department shall be headed by a director appointed by the secretary with the approval of the Governor in accordance with KRS 12.050. The Workers' Compensation Board shall be attached to the Department of Workers' Claims for administrative purposes only;
 - (c) Department of Workplace Standards, which shall be headed by a

commissioner appointed by the Governor in accordance with KRS 12.040 and shall be divided for administrative purposes into the Division of Occupational Safety and Health Compliance, the Division of Occupational Safety and Health Education and Training, and the Division of Wages and Hours. Each of these divisions shall be headed by a director appointed by the secretary with the approval of the Governor in accordance with KRS 12.050;

- (d) Office of Unemployment Insurance, which shall be headed by an executive director appointed by the Governor in accordance with KRS 12.040;
- (e) Kentucky Unemployment Insurance Commission;
- (f) Department for Libraries and Archives;
- (g) Office of Educational Programs;
- (h) Kentucky Workforce Innovation Board; and
- (i) Department of Workforce Development, which shall be headed by a commissioner appointed by the Governor in accordance with KRS 12.040 who shall report to the secretary. Each office or division in the department shall be headed by an executive director or director appointed by the secretary with the approval of the Governor in accordance with KRS 12.050. The department shall be composed of the following offices:
 - 1. Career Development Office;
 - 2. Office of Vocational Rehabilitation;
 - 3. Office of Employer and Apprenticeship Services;
 - 4. Office of Adult Education;
 - 5. Kentucky Apprenticeship Council, which shall be attached to the department for administrative purposes only;
 - 6. Division of Technical Assistance; and
 - 7. Office of the Kentucky Workforce Innovation Board.
- (3) The following agencies are attached to the cabinet for administrative purposes only:
 - (a) Kentucky Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission;
 - (b) State Labor Relations Board;
 - (c) Workers' Compensation Funding Commission;
 - (d) Kentucky Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board;
 - (e) Kentucky Environmental Education Council;
 - (f) Kentucky Geographic Education Board;
 - (g) Board of Directors for the Center for School Safety;
 - (h) Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education;
 - (i) Employers' Mutual Insurance Authority;
 - (j) Workers' Compensation Nominating Committee;
 - (k) Kentucky Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing;
 - (I) Kentucky Educational Television;

- (m) Kentucky Work Ready Skills Advisory Committee; and
- (n) Foundation for Adult Education.
 Effective: July 1, 2022
 History: Created 2022 Ky. Acts ch. 236, sec. 1, effective July 1, 2022.