## 163.506 Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing -- Membership -- Terms -- Compensation.

- (1) The Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing shall consist of:
  - (a) Seven (7) members appointed by the Governor as follows:
    - 1. One (1) audiologist chosen from a list of three (3) names submitted by the Kentucky Speech and Hearing Association;
    - Three (3) hard of hearing or deaf persons chosen from a list of six (6) names submitted by the Kentucky Association of the Deaf;
    - One (1) deaf or hard of hearing person chosen from a list of three (3) names submitted by the Kentucky Chapter of the Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf, the initial appointment to be for a one (1) year term;
    - One (1) hard of hearing or deaf person chosen from a list of three (3) names submitted by the Kentucky members of Self Help for Hard of Hearing People, the initial appointment to be for a two (2) year term; and
    - 5. One (1) deaf, late-deafened, or hard of hearing person chosen from a list of three (3) names submitted by the American Association of Retired Persons, the initial appointment to be for a two (2) year term;
  - (b) One (1) representative of the Cabinet for Health and Family Services appointed by the secretary;
  - (c) The secretary of the Education and Labor Cabinet or his designee;
  - (d) The president of the Kentucky Association for the Deaf or his designee;
  - (e) The president of the Kentucky Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf or his designee; and
  - (f) Three (3) persons appointed by the Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing as constituted in subsections (1)(a) through (1)(e) of this section, appointed as follows:
    - 1. One (1) parent of a hard of hearing or deaf child;
    - 2. One (1) representative of a public or private organization providing consistent services to the deaf and hard of hearing; and
    - 3. One (1) member at large.
- (2) All members shall serve three (3) year terms except state officials or their designees who shall serve during their terms of office. Of the members appointed pursuant to subsection (1)(a)2. through (1)(a)5. and subsection (1)(f) of this section, no more than three (3) of those members shall have terms beginning in the same year. Any person who is a member of the commission on July 13, 1990, shall serve until he resigns or until his term expires.
- (3) Each member of the commission shall be reimbursed for his necessary travel and other expenses actually incurred in the discharge of his duties.

Effective: July 1, 2022

History: Amended 2022 Ky. Acts ch. 236, sec. 81, effective July 1, 2022. --Amended 2009 Ky. Acts ch. 11, sec. 54, effective June 25, 2009. -- Amended 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 211, sec. 98, effective July 12, 2006. -- Amended 2005 Ky. Acts ch. 99, sec. 23, effective June 20, 2005. -- Amended 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 32, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1998; and ch. 426, sec. 119, effective July 15, 1998. --Amended 1994 Ky. Acts ch. 209, sec. 15, effective July 15, 1994. Amended 1992 Ky. Acts ch. 144, sec. 2, effective July 14, 1992. -- Created 1990 Ky. Acts ch. 68, sec. 1, effective July 13, 1990.

**Legislative Research Commission Note** (7/15/98). This section was amended by 1998 Ky. Acts chs. 32 and 426. Where these Acts are not in conflict, they have been codified together. Where a conflict exists, Acts ch. 426, which was last enacted by the General Assembly, prevails under KRS 446.250.