174.020 Major organizational units.

- (1) The Transportation Cabinet shall consist of the following major organizational units:
 - (a) The Office of the Secretary, which shall include, but not be limited to:
 - 1. The secretary to be appointed by the Governor under KRS 12.255; and
 - 2. The deputy secretary appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - (b) The Department of Highways, headed by a commissioner, appointed by the Governor under KRS 12.040;
 - (c) The Department of Vehicle Regulation, headed by a commissioner, appointed by the Governor under KRS 12.040. The Motor Vehicle Commission established in KRS 190.058 shall be attached to the Department of Vehicle Regulation for administrative purposes;
 - (d) The Department of Rural and Municipal Aid, headed by a commissioner appointed by the Governor under KRS 12.040;
 - (e) The Department of Aviation, headed by a commissioner appointed by the Governor under KRS 12.040. The Kentucky Airport Zoning Commission established by KRS 183.861 shall be attached to the Department of Aviation;
 - (f) The Office of Support Services, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - (g) The Office of Transportation Delivery, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - (h) The Office of Audits, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - (i) The Office of Human Resource Management, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - (j) The Office of Information Technology, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - (k) The Office of Legal Services, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - (1) The following offices, which shall be attached to the Office of the Secretary:
 - 1. The Office of Public Affairs, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - 2. The Office of Budget and Fiscal Management, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - 3. The Office for Civil Rights and Small Business Development, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - 4. The Office of Inspector General, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040; and
 - 5. The Secretary's Office of Safety, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040;
 - (m) The following offices, which shall be attached to the Department of

Highways:

- 1. The Office of Project Development, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040, who shall be a registered professional engineer under KRS Chapter 322, and who shall be known as the deputy state highway engineer for project development;
- 2. The Office of Project Delivery and Preservation, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040, who shall be a registered professional engineer under KRS Chapter 322, and who shall be known as the deputy state highway engineer for project delivery and preservation;
- 3. The Office of Highway Safety, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040; and
- 4. Highway District Offices One through Twelve, each district office to be headed by an executive director, also known as the chief district engineer, appointed under KRS 12.040, who shall be a registered professional engineer under KRS Chapter 322; and
- (n) The following offices, which shall be attached to the Department of Rural and Municipal Aid:
 - 1. Office of Local Programs, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040; and
 - 2. Office of Rural and Secondary Roads, headed by an executive director appointed under KRS 12.040.
- (2) The position of director in the Division of Environmental Analysis is a policymaking position under KRS 18A.175.

Effective: July 14, 2022

- History: Amended 2022 Ky. Acts ch. 218, sec. 3, effective July 14, 2022. -- Amended 2021 Ky. Acts ch. 186, sec. 1, effective June 29, 2021. -- Amended 2009 Ky. Acts ch. 13, sec. 3, effective June 25, 2009; and ch. 12, sec. 45, effective June 25, 2009. -- Amended 2005 Ky. Acts ch. 98, sec. 2, effective June 20, 2005. -- Amended 2003 Ky. Acts ch. 7, sec. 2, effective June 24, 2003. -- Amended 2001 Ky. Acts ch. 16, sec. 2, effective June 21, 2001. -- Amended 2000 Ky. Acts ch. 85, sec. 3, effective July 14, 2000; and ch. 417, sec. 2, effective December 1, 2000. -- Amended 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 333, sec. 2, effective July 15, 1998. -- Amended 1994 Ky. Acts ch. 215, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1994. -- Amended 1986 Ky. Acts ch. 216, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1984. -- Amended 1982 Ky. Acts ch. 184, sec. 3, effective July 15, 1982. -- Amended 1976 Ky. Acts ch. 299, sec. 34. -- Created 1974 Ky. Acts ch. 74, Art. IV, sec. 3.
- **Legislative Research Commission Note** (6/25/2009). During the processing of Senate Bill 182, which became 2009 Ky. Acts ch. 13, the following sentence was inadvertently inserted twice in subsection (1) of this statute: "The Motor Vehicle Commission established in KRS 190.058 shall be attached to the Department of Vehicle Regulation for administrative purposes." This manifest clerical or typographical error has been corrected during codification by the Reviser of Statutes under the authority of KRS 7.136(1)(h).
- Legislative Research Commission Note (12/1/2000). The contingency on the

effectiveness of this statute set by 2000 Ky. Acts ch. 417, sec. 18, was met, the voters of the Commonwealth having ratified at the general election on November 7, 2000, a constitutional amendment (see 2000 Ky. Acts ch. 399) abolishing the Railroad Commission.