246.120 State Board of Agriculture.

- (1) The board shall consist of eighteen (18) members as follows:
 - (a) The commissioner or the commissioner's designee, who shall be a voting member and serve as chairman;
 - (b) The dean of the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture, Food and Environment or the dean's designee, who shall be a voting member and serve as vice chairman;
 - (c) Thirteen (13) citizens of the Commonwealth appointed by the Commissioner who shall serve as voting members, specifically:
 - 1. Four (4) members who are farmers with experience in crop production, each of whom shall be selected from a list of at least three (3) individuals nominated by the Kentucky Corn Growers Association, the Kentucky Small Grain Growers Association, the Kentucky Soybean Association, or other similar trade organizations or commodity groups;
 - Four (4) members who are farmers with experience in animal agriculture, each of whom shall be selected from a list of at least three (3) individuals nominated by the Kentucky Cattlemen's Association, the Kentucky Dairy Development Council, the Kentucky Pork Producers Association, the Kentucky Poultry Federation, the Kentucky Sheep and Goat Development Office, or other similar trade organizations or commodity groups;
 - 3. Three (3) members who shall be appointed from the state at large who are farmers with due consideration to geographical distribution throughout the state and industry representation;
 - One (1) member who shall be appointed from a list of at least three (3) individuals nominated by the AgriBusiness Association of Kentucky or other similar trade organizations representing agribusiness; and
 - One (1) member who shall be appointed from a list of at least three (3) individuals nominated by the Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation;
 - (d) The state president of the Kentucky FFA Association who shall serve as a nonvoting member for the duration of his or her term;
 - (e) The state president of the Kentucky Young Farmers Association who shall serve as a nonvoting member for the duration of his or her term; and
 - (f) The state president of the Kentucky 4-H who shall serve as a nonvoting member for the duration of his or her term.
- (2) The members who serve on the board and were appointed by the Commissioner shall serve four (4) year terms and shall serve until their successors are duly appointed and qualified. No more than eight (8) of the thirteen (13) shall belong to the same political party.
- (3) Upon the expiration of the term of a member of the board, the Commissioner shall appoint a successor. A board member whose term has expired shall serve until a replacement has been appointed and qualified. No person shall serve on the board for more than twelve (12) years.

(4) The board shall be a body corporate under the corporate name "State Board of Agriculture" and shall have the usual corporate powers.

Effective: March 29, 2021

History: Amended 2021 Ky. Acts ch. 150, sec. 1, effective March 29, 2021. --Amended 2019 Ky. Acts ch. 88, sec. 1, effective August 1, 2019. -- Amended 1994 Ky. Acts ch. 122, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1994. -- Amended 1960 Ky. Acts ch. 122, sec. 1, effective March 25, 1960. -- Recodified 1942 Ky. Acts ch. 208, sec. 1, effective October 1, 1942, from Ky. Stat. secs. 37-2, 37-3.