# §104. Mississippi

Mississippi is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the northern and southern districts of Mississippi.

# Northern District

(a) The northern district comprises four divisions.

- Eastern division comprises the counties of Alcorn, Attala, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Prentiss, Tishomingo, and Winston.
- Court for the eastern division shall be held at Aberdeen, Ackerman, and Corinth.
- (2) The western division comprises the counties of Benton, Calhoun, Grenada, Lafayette, Marshall, Montgomery, Pontotoc, Tippah, Union, Webster, and Yalobusha.
- Court for the Western division shall be held at Oxford.
- (3) The Delta division comprises the counties of Bolivar, Coahoma, De Soto, Panola, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tate, and Tunica.
- Court for the Delta division shall be held at Clarksdale and Cleveland.
- (4) The Greenville division comprises the counties of Carroll, Humphreys, Leflore, Sunflower, and Washington.
- Court for the Greenville division shall be held at Greenville.

# Southern District

(b) The southern district comprises five divisions.

- The Jackson division comprises the counties of Amite, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, and Smith.
- Court for the Jackson division shall be held at Jackson.
- (2) The eastern division comprises the counties of Clarke, Jasper, Kemper, Lauderdale, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, and Wayne.
- Court for the eastern division shall be held at Meridian.
- (3) The western division comprises the counties of Adams, Claiborne, Issaquena, Jefferson, Sharkey, Warren, Wilkinson, and Yazoo.
- Court for the western division shall be held at Natchez and Vicksburg.
- (4) The southern division comprises the counties of George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River, and Stone.
- Court for the southern division shall be held at Biloxi and Gulfport.
- (5) The Hattiesburg division comprises the counties of Covington, Forrest, Greene, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Marion, Perry, and Walthall.
- Court for the Hattiesburg division shall be held at Hattiesburg.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 883; Aug. 7, 1950, ch. 601, 64 Stat. 415; Pub. L. 90–92, Sept. 27, 1967, 81 Stat. 229; Pub. L. 91–546, §§2, 3, Dec. 14, 1970, 84 Stat. 1412; Pub. L. 95–408, §2(b), Oct. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 883; Pub. L. 106-130, §1, Dec. 6, 1999, 113 Stat. 1677; Pub. L. 108-455, §2, Dec. 10, 2004, 118 Stat. 3628.)

### HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §170 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §90, 36 Stat. 1116; Feb. 5, 1912, ch. 28, 37 Stat. 59; May 27, 1912, ch. 136, 37 Stat. 118; Feb. 12, 1925, ch. 212, 43 Stat. 882; May 19, 1936, ch. 428, 49 Stat. 1362; May 8, 1939, ch. 116, §1, 53 Stat. 684).

Provisions relating to the maintenance of offices by the clerks and marshals were omitted as covered by sections 452, 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

### Amendments

2004—Subsec. (a)(3). Pub. L. 108-455 inserted "and Cleveland" after "Clarksdale". 1999—Subsec. (b)(3). Pub. L. 106-130, in second sen-

1999—Subsec. (b)(3). Pub. L. 106–130, in second sentence, struck out ": *Provided*, That court shall be held at Natchez if suitable quarters and accommodations are furnished at no cost to the United States" before period at end.

1978—Subsec. (a)(1). Pub. L. 95–408 provided for holding court at Corinth.

1970—Subsec. (b)(3). Pub. L. 91-546, §3, provided for holding court at Natchez if suitable quarters and accommodations are furnished at no cost to the United States.

Subsec. (b)(4). Pub. L. 91–546, 2, provided for holding court at Gulfport.

1967—Subsec. (a)(1). Pub. L. 90–92 provided for holding court at Ackerman. 1950—Act Aug. 7, 1950, created Greenville division in

1950—Act Aug. 7, 1950, created Greenville division in the northern district with terms of courts to be held at Greenville.

#### EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1978 AMENDMENT; SAVINGS PROVISION

Amendment by Pub. L. 95-408 effective 180 days after Oct. 2, 1978, with such amendment not to affect the composition or preclude the service of any grand or petit juror summoned, empaneled, or actually serving in any judicial district on the effective date of this Act, see section 5 of Pub. L. 95-408, set out as a note under section 89 of this title.

### §105. Missouri

Missouri is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Eastern and Western Districts of Missouri.

# Eastern District

(a) The Eastern District comprises three divisions.

- (1) The Eastern Division comprises the counties of Crawford, Dent, Franklin, Gasconade, Iron, Jefferson, Lincoln, Maries, Phelps, Saint Charles, Saint Francois, Saint Genevieve, Saint Louis, Warren, and Washington, and the city of Saint Louis.
- Court for the Eastern Division shall be held at Saint Louis.
- (2) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Adair, Audrain, Chariton, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Ralls, Randolph, Schuyler, Scotland, and Shelby.
- Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Hannibal.
- (3) The Southeastern Division comprises the counties of Bollinger, Butler, Cape