Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Perry, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, and Wayne.

Court for the Southeastern Division shall be held at Cape Girardeau.

Western District

- (b) The Western District comprises five divisions.
 - The Western Division comprises the counties of Bates, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Henry, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Ray, Saint Clair, and Saline.
 - Court for the Western Division shall be held at Kansas City.
 - (2) The Southwestern Division comprises the counties of Barton, Barry, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Stone, and Vernon.
 - Court for the Southwestern Division shall be held at Joplin.
 - (3) The Saint Joseph Division comprises the counties of Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Clinton, Daviess, De Kalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Platte, Putnam, Sullivan, and Worth.
 - Court for the Saint Joseph Division shall be held at Saint Joseph.
 - (4) The Central Division comprises the counties of Benton, Boone, Callaway, Camden, Cole, Cooper, Hickory, Howard, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Osage, and Pettis.
 - Court for the Central Division shall be held at Jefferson City.
 - (5) The Southern Division comprises the counties of Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Douglas, Greene, Howell, Laclede, Oregon, Ozark, Polk, Pulaski, Taney, Texas, Webster, and Wright.
 - Court for the Southern Division shall be held at Springfield.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 884; Pub. L. 87–461, May 31, 1962, 76 Stat. 85; Pub. L. 96–462, §4(a), Oct. 15, 1980, 94 Stat. 2053.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §171 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §91, 36 Stat. 1117; Dec. 22, 1911, ch. 8, 37 Stat. 51).

Provisions for furnishing rooms and accommodations at Chillicothe were omitted as obsolete upon advice of Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts that Federal accommodations are now available in such place.

available in such place.

"Rolla" was omitted as a place for holding court in the Eastern Division of the Eastern District, and the provision for furnishing quarters there without cost to the United States was also omitted on advice from the clerk of court that no term of court has been held there since 1920. All cases arising in Phelps county in which Rolla is situated are heard at St. Louis.

Provisions relating to the maintenance of offices by the clerks and marshals or their deputies were omitted as covered by sections 452, 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1980—Subsec. (a)(1). Pub. L. 96-462, §4(a)(1), struck out references to Audrain and Montgomery counties in the list of counties comprising the Eastern Division of the Eastern District.

Subsec. (a)(2). Pub. L. 96-462, §4(a)(2), added Audrain and Montgomery counties to the Northern Division of the Eastern District.

1962—Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 87–461 transferred the counties of Caldwell, Grundy, Livingston, Mercer, Putnam, and Sullivan from the Western Division to the Saint Joseph Division, and omitted Chillicothe as a place for holding court.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1980 AMENDMENT; SAVINGS PROVISION

Amendment by Pub. L. 96–462 effective Oct. 1, 1981, but not to affect the composition or preclude the service of any grand or petit juror summoned, empaneled, or actually serving in any judicial district on Oct. 1, 1981, see section 7 of Pub. L. 96–462, set out as a note under section 84 of this title.

Section 4(b) of Pub. L. 96-462 provided that: "The amendments made by subsection (a) [amending this section] shall not apply to any action commenced before the effective date of such amendments [Oct. 1, 1981] and pending in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri on such date."

§ 106. Montana

Montana, exclusive of Yellowstone National Park, constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Billings, Butte, Glasgow, Great Falls, Havre, Helena, Kalispell, Lewistown, Livingston, Miles City, and Missoula.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 884.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §172 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §92, 36 Stat. 1118; July 3, 1926, ch. 748, 44 Stat. 825; July 5, 1937, ch. 430, 50 Stat. 474; Aug. 26, 1937, ch. 819, §2, 50 Stat. 837; Aug. 7, 1939, ch. 506, 53 Stat. 1236).

All of Yellowstone National Park is included in the judicial district of Wyoming by section 131 of this title. Those parts of the park lying in Montana are accordingly excluded from the judicial district of Montana.

A provision for furnishing rooms and accommodations at Havre was omitted as obsolete on advice of the Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts that Federal accommodations are now available there.

A provision for transfer of causes, civil or criminal, from one place of holding court to another was omitted. Such provision, as to civil cases, is covered by section 1404 of this title, and, as to criminal cases, is rendered unnecessary because of inherent power of the court and Rules 18–20 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, relating to venue.

A provision for the making of any interlocutory order at any place designated for holding court was omitted as unnecessary in view of Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 77–(b).

The provisions respecting court accommodations at Kalispell, Lewistown, and Livingston were omitted as covered by section 142 of this title.

Changes were made in arrangement and phraseology.

§ 107. Nebraska

Nebraska constitutes one judicial district.
Court shall be held at Lincoln, North Platte,

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 884; Aug. 9, 1955, ch. 627, §1, 69 Stat. 546.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., 173 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, 93, 36 Stat. 1118).

Provisions for furnishing rooms and accommodations at the various places for holding court were omitted as