therein, as by law provided in any case arising subsequent to the admission of said State into the Union."

EXTENSION OF JURISDICTION OF UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR DISTRICT OF HAWAII AND OF CIVIL AND CRIMINAL LAWS TO MIDWAY, WAKE, JOHNSON, SAND, ETC., ISLANDS

The jurisdiction of the United States District Court for the District of Hawaii and the laws of the United States relating to civil acts or offenses consummated or committed on the high seas on board a vessel belonging to the United States were extended to the Midway Islands, Wake, Johnson, Sand, etc., Islands by section 644a of Title 48, Territories and Insular Possessions.

§92. Idaho

Idaho, exclusive of Yellowstone National Park, constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Boise, Coeur d'Alene, Moscow, and Pocatello.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 877; Pub. L. 91–272, §5, June 2, 1970, 84 Stat. 297.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §151 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §78, 36 Stat. 1109; May 11, 1939, ch. 121, 53 Stat. 738).

All of Yellowstone National Park is included in the judicial district of Wyoming by section 131 of this title. Those parts of the park lying in Idaho are accordingly excluded from the judicial district of Idaho.

A provision as to the places for maintenance of the clerk's offices, and requiring that they be open at all times, was omitted as covered by sections 452-751 of this title

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1970—Pub. L. 91–272 struck out provisions which had divided the judicial district of Idaho into a Northern Division, a Central Division, a Southern Division, and an Eastern Division.

§93. Illinois

Illinois is divided into three judicial districts to be known as the Northern, Central, and Southern Districts of Illinois.

Northern District

- (a) The Northern District comprises two divisions.
 - (1) The Eastern Division comprises the counties of Cook, Du Page, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, La Salle, and Will.
 - Court for the Eastern Division shall be held at Chicago and Wheaton.
 - (2) The Western Division comprises the counties of Boone, Carroll, De Kalb, Jo Daviess, Lee, McHenry, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, and Winnebago.
 - Court for the Western Division shall be held at Freeport and Rockford.

Central District

(b) The Central District comprises the counties of Adams, Brown, Bureau, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Coles, De Witt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Kankakee, Knox, Livingston, Logan, McDonough, McLean, Macoupin, Macon, Marshall, Mason, Menard, Mercer, Mont-

gomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Vermilion, Warren, and Woodford.

Court for the Central District shall be held at Champaign/Urbana, Danville, Peoria, Quincy, Rock Island, and Springfield.

Southern District

(c) The Southern District comprises the counties of Alexander, Bond, Calhoun, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Cumberland, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, St. Clair, Saline, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, and Williamson.

Court for the Southern District shall be held at Alton, Benton, Cairo, and East Saint Louis.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 878; Aug. 10, 1950, ch. 675, §1, 64 Stat. 438; Pub. L. 87–36, §3(c), May 19, 1961, 75 Stat. 83; Pub. L. 91–272, §8, June 2, 1970, 84 Stat. 297; Pub. L. 95–408, §4(b)(1), Oct. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 884; Pub. L. 95–573, §1, Nov. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 2458; Pub. L. 98–620, title IV, §406(a), (c), Nov. 8, 1984, 98 Stat. 3361; Pub. L. 106–130, §2, Dec. 6, 1999, 113 Stat. 1677.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §152 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §79, 36 Stat. 1110; Aug. 12, 1937, ch. 594, 50 Stat. 624; June 6, 1940, ch. 247, 54 Stat. 237).

Provisions relating to appointment of deputy marshals and maintenance of offices by deputy marshals and deputy clerks were omitted as covered by sections 452, 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1999—Subsec. (a)(1). Pub. L. 106-130 inserted "and Wheaton" before period at end.

1984—Subsec. (a)(1). Pub. L. 98-620, §406(a)(1), struck out De Kalb and McHenry from the counties comprising the Eastern Division of the Northern District.

Subsec. (a)(2). Pub. L. 98-620, §406(a)(2), added De Kalb and McHenry to the counties comprising the Western Division of the Northern District.

Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 98-620, §406(c), provided for holding court at Champaign/Urbana.

1978—Pub. L. 95–408 substituted in introductory provisions "Northern, Central, and Southern Districts of Illinois" for "Northern, Southern, and Eastern Districts of Illinois".

Subsec. (a)(1). Pub. L. 95–573, §1(1), struck out Kankakee from the counties comprising the Eastern Division of the Northern District.

Pub. L. 95-408 added Kankakee to the counties comprising the Eastern Division of the Northern District.

Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 95–573, $\S1(2)$, added Kankakee to the counties comprising the Central District.

Pub. L. 95–408 substituted "Central District" for "Southern District" in heading, struck out subsec. (b)(1) and (2) designations, which divided Southern District into a Northern and Southern Division, and in such newly created Central District, added counties of Champaign, Coles, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Moultrie, Piatt, Shelby, and Vermilion to, and struck out counties of Bond, Calhoun, Jersey, and Madison from, those counties comprising the new Central Dis-