Court for the Ottumwa Division shall be held at Ottumwa.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 879; Pub. L. 96–462, §3(a), Oct. 15, 1980, 94 Stat. 2053.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §§156 and 156a (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §81, 36 Stat. 1111; Mar. 3, 1913, ch. 122, 37 Stat. 734; Feb. 23, 1916, ch. 32, 39 Stat. 12; Apr. 27, 1916, ch. 90, 39 Stat. 55; Mar. 4, 1923, ch. 256, 42 Stat. 1483; Jan. 28, 1925, ch. 104, 43 Stat. 794; July 5, 1937, ch. 428, 50 Stat. 474)

A provision relating to the maintenance of clerk's office was omitted as covered by section 751 of this title. Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1980—Subsec. (b)(3). Pub. L. 96–462, $\S 3(a)(1)$, added Fremont and Page counties to Western Division of Southern District.

Subsec. (b)(4). Pub. L. 96-462, §3(a)(2), struck out references to Fremont and Page counties in list of counties comprising Southern Division of Southern District.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1980 AMENDMENT; SAVINGS PROVISION

Amendment by Pub. L. 96–462 effective Oct. 1, 1981, but not to affect the composition or preclude the service of any grand or petit juror summoned, empaneled, or actually serving in any judicial district on Oct. 1, 1981, see section 7 of Pub. L. 96–462, set out as a note under section 84 of this title.

Section 3(b) of Pub. L. 96-462 provided that: "The amendments made by subsection (a) [amending this section] shall not apply to any action commenced before the effective date of such amendments [Oct. 1, 1981] and pending in the United States District Court for the Southern District of Iowa on such date."

HOLDING COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA

Pub. L. 107–273, div. C, title I, §11029, Nov. 2, 2002, 116 Stat. 1836, as amended by Pub. L. 108–455, §1, Dec. 10, 2004, 118 Stat. 3628, provided that: "Notwithstanding any other provision of law, during the period beginning on January 1, 2003, through July 1, 2006, the United States District Court for the Southern District of Iowa mav—

"(1) with the consent of the parties in any case filed in the Eastern Division or the Davenport Division of the Southern District of Iowa, hold court on that case in Rock Island, Illinois; and

"(2) summon jurors from the Southern District of Iowa to serve in any case described under paragraph (1)."

§ 96. Kansas

Kansas constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Kansas City, Lawrence, Leavenworth, Salina, Topeka, Hutchinson, Wichita, Dodge City, and Fort Scott.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 880; Aug. 27, 1949, ch. 516, 63 Stat. 666; Pub. L. 99–554, title I, §141, Oct. 27, 1986, 100 Stat. 3096.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §157 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §82, 36 Stat. 1112; Sept. 6, 1916, ch. 447, 39 Stat. 725; June 7, 1924, ch. 319, 43 Stat. 607; June 13, 1938, ch. 349, 52 Stat. 673).

Provisions as to the appointment and residence of deputy marshals and deputy clerks and maintenance of offices by them were omitted. See sections 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title.

A provision making inoperative the terms of the last paragraph of this section, whenever, upon the recom-

mendation of the Attorney General, court accommodations should be provided in Federal buildings, was omitted as unnecessary. When such buildings become available the Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts will, under section 604 of this title, provide court accommodations therein.

The provision respecting court accommodations at Hutchinson was omitted as covered by section 142 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

 $1986\mathrm{-Pub}.$ L. $99\mathrm{-}554$ provided for holding court at Lawrence.

1949—Act Aug. 27, 1949, abolished the three divisions which constituted the judicial district, and added Dodge City as an additional place for holding court.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1986 AMENDMENT

Amendment by Pub. L. 99–554 effective 30 days after Oct. 27, 1986, see section 302(a) of Pub. L. 99–554, set out as a note under section 581 of this title.

§97. Kentucky

Kentucky is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Eastern and Western Districts of Kentucky.

Eastern District

(a) The Eastern District comprises the counties of Anderson, Bath, Bell, Boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breathitt, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Clark, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Greenup, Harlan, Harrison, Henry, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Kenton, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, McCreary, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Mason, Menifee, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Scott, Shelby, Trimble, Wayne, Whitley, Wolfe, and Woodford.

Court for the Eastern District shall be held at Ashland, Catlettsburg, Covington, Frankfort, Jackson, Lexington, London, Pikeville, and Richmond.

Western District

(b) The Western District comprises the counof Adair, Allen, Ballard, Barren. Breckenridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell. Calloway, Carlisle, Casey, Christian, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Jeffer-Larue, Livingston, Logan, son, Lyon, McCracken, McLean, Marion, Marshall, Meade, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Ohio, Oldham, Russell, Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Union, Warren, Washington, and Webster.

Court for the Western District shall be held at Bowling Green, Louisville, Owensboro, and Paducah.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 880; Pub. L. 95–408, §2(a), Oct. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 883.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §158 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §83, 36 Stat. 1112; Jan. 29, 1920, ch. 57, 41 Stat. 400; June 22, 1936, ch. 707, 49 Stat. 1822).