§ 99. Maine

Maine constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Bangor and Portland.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 881; Pub. L. 95–573, § 2, Nov. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 2458.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §160 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §85, 36 Stat. 1114; Dec. 22, 1911, ch. 7, 37 Stat. 51; Sept. 8, 1916, ch. 475, §§1, 3, 39 Stat. 850; Mar. 4, 1923, ch. 279, 42 Stat. 1506).

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1978—Pub. L. 95-573 struck out provision for two separate divisions, (1) the Northern Division comprising the counties of Aroostook, Hancock, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo, and Washington and (2) the Southern Division comprising the counties of Androscoggin, Cumberland, Franklin, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Oxford, Sagadahoc, and York.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1978 AMENDMENT

Amendment by Pub. L. 95-573 effective 180 days after Nov. 2, 1978, see section 6 of Pub. L. 95-573, set out as a note under section 93 of this title.

§ 100. Maryland

Maryland constitutes one judicial district comprising two divisions.

- (1) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Caroline, Carroll, Cecil, Dorchester, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Washington, Wicomico, and Worcester, and the City of Baltimore.
- Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Baltimore, Cumberland, and Denton.
- (2) The Southern Division comprises the counties of Calvert, Charles, Montgomery, Prince George's, and St. Mary's.
- Court for the Southern Division shall be held at a suitable site in Montgomery or Prince George's County not more than five miles from the boundary of Montgomery and Prince George's Counties.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 882; Pub. L. 91–546, §4, Dec. 14, 1970, 84 Stat. 1412; Pub. L. 100–487, §1, Oct. 14, 1988, 102 Stat. 2431.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §166 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §86, 36 Stat. 1114; Mar. 3, 1925, ch. 422, 43 Stat. 1106)

Provisions relating to appointment of a deputy clerk and a deputy marshal and the maintenance of offices by such deputies were omitted as covered by sections 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title.

The provisions respecting court accommodations at Denton were omitted as covered by section 142 of this

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1988—Pub. L. 100–702 amended section generally. Prior to amendment, section provided that Maryland constituted one judicial district and that court be held at Baltimore, Cumberland, Denton, and at a suitable site in Prince Georges County not more than five miles from the boundary of Montgomery and Prince Georges Counties

 $1970\mathrm{-\!Pub}.$ L. $91\mathrm{-}546$ added a suitable site in Prince Georges County not more than five miles from the

boundary of Montgomery and Prince Georges Counties to the list of enumerated places for holding court in Maryland.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1988 AMENDMENT

Section 2 of Pub. L. 100-487 provided that:

"(a) IN GENERAL.—This Act and the amendments made by this Act [amending this section] shall take effect 180 days after the date of the enactment of this Act [Oct. 14, 1988].

"(b) PENDING CASES NOT AFFECTED.—This Act and the amendments made by this Act shall not affect any action commenced before the effective date of this Act and pending in the United States District Court for the District of Maryland on such date.

"(c) JURIES NOT AFFECTED.—This Act and the amendments made by this Act shall not affect the composition, or preclude the service, of any grand or petit jury summoned, empaneled, or actually serving in the Judicial District of Maryland on the effective date of this Act."

§ 101. Massachusetts

Massachusetts constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Boston, New Bedford, Springfield, and Worcester.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 882.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., \$167 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, \$87, 36 Stat. 1114; May 1, 1922, ch. 173, 42 Stat. 503; May 17, 1926, ch. 306, 44 Stat. 559).

Words "and the terms at Boston shall not be terminated or affected by the terms at Springfield, New Bedford, or Worcester," were omitted as covered by section 138 of this title.

Provisions relating to appointment of deputy clerks and deputy marshals, and maintenance of office by said deputies were omitted as covered by sections 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title.

Provisions for furnishing rooms and accommodations at Springfield and Worcester were omitted as obsolete upon advice of Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts that federal accommodations have been provided at such places.

A provision requiring the return of all process to the terms at Boston and the keeping of all court papers in the clerk's office at Boston, unless otherwise specially ordered by the court, was omitted, since such matters can be regulated more appropriately by court rule or order. See Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4(g).

The provision respecting court accommodations at New Bedford was omitted as covered by section 142 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

§ 102. Michigan

Michigan is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Eastern and Western Districts of Michigan.

Eastern District

- (a) The Eastern District comprises two divisions
 - (1) The Southern Division comprises the counties of Genesee, Jackson, Lapeer, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, Saint Clair, Sanilac, Shiawassee, Washtenaw, and Wayne.
 - Court for the Southern Division shall be held at Ann Arbor, Detroit, Flint, and Port Huron.
 - (2) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Alcona, Alpena, Arenac, Bay,