Subsec. (d)(7). Pub. L. 90-216, §1(3), added par. (7), which created Midland-Odessa Division, comprised of counties of Andrews, Crane, Ector, Martin, Midland, and Upton, transferred from Pecos Division.

1964—Subsec. (b)(1). Pub. L. 88–282, §1(a), struck out Austin, Fort Bend, and Wharton counties from list comprising Galveston Division.

Subsec. (b)(2). Pub. L. 88-282, \$1(b), added Austin, Fort Bend, and Wharton counties to list comprising Houston Division.

Subsec. (c)(4). Pub. L. 88-512, §1(a), added county of Hopkins to Paris Division.

Subsec. (c)(5). Pub. L. 88-512, §1(b), struck out county of Hopkins from Marshall Division.

1961—Subsec. (c)(5). Pub. L. 87–352 changed the name of Division from Jefferson to Marshall, and provided for holding court at Marshall.

1957—Subsec. (c)(1). Pub. L. 85–298, §2, inserted Shelby County in list of counties comprising Tyler Division.

Subsec. (c)(2). Pub. L. 85-298, §1, struck out Shelby County from list of counties comprising Beaumont Division.

1954—Subsec. (d)(4). Act Feb. 10, 1954, §2(b)(9)(a), struck out Edwards County from list of counties comprising San Antonio Division of Western District.

Subsec. (d)(5). Act Feb. 10, 1954, $\S 2(b)(9)(b)$, inserted Edwards County in list of counties comprising Del Rio Division of Western District.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 2003 AMENDMENT

Pub. L. 108–157, $\S1(b)$, Dec. 3, 2003, 117 Stat. 1947, provided that:

"(1) IN GENERAL.—This section [amending this section] and the amendments made by this section shall take effect on the date of the enactment of this Act [Dec. 3, 2003].

"(2) PENDING CASES NOT AFFECTED.—This section and the amendments made by this section shall not affect any action commenced before the effective date of this section and pending in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Texas on such date.

"(3) JURIES NOT AFFECTED.—This section and the

"(3) JURIES NOT AFFECTED.—This section and the amendments made by this section shall not affect the composition, or preclude the service, of any grand or petit jury summoned, impaneled, or actually serving in the Eastern Judicial District of Texas on the effective date of this section."

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1984 AMENDMENT

Pub. L. 98-620, title IV, §407(b), Nov. 8, 1984, 98 Stat. 3362, provided that: "The amendments made by subsection (a) of this section [amending this section] shall apply to any action commenced in the United States District Court for the Southern District of Texas on or after the effective date of this subtitle [Jan. 1, 1985], and shall not affect any action pending in such court on such effective date."

Amendment by Pub. L. 98-620 effective Jan. 1, 1985, and not to affect the composition, or preclude the service, of any grand or petit jury summoned, impaneled, or actually serving on that date, see section 411 of Pub. L. 98-620, set out as a note under section 85 of this title.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1980 AMENDMENT; SAVINGS PROVISION

Amendment by Pub. L. 96–462 effective Oct. 1, 1981, but not to affect the composition or preclude the service of any grand or petit juror summoned, empaneled, or actually serving in any judicial district on Oct. 1, 1981, see section 7 of Pub. L. 96–462, set out as a note under section 84 of this title.

§ 125. Utah

Utah constitutes one judicial district comprising two divisions.

 The Northern Division comprises the counties of Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Morgan, Rich, and Weber. Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Salt Lake City and Ogden.

(2) The Central Division comprises the counties of Beaver, Carbon, Daggett, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Iron, Juab, Kane, Millard, Piute, Salt Lake, San Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Uintah, Utah, Wasatch, Washington, and Wayne.

Court for the Central Division shall be held at Salt Lake City, Provo, and St.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 893; Pub. L. 104-317, title VI, §606, Oct. 19, 1996, 110 Stat. 3859.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §190 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §109, 36 Stat. 1127).

A provision relating to the maintenance of offices by the clerk was omitted as covered by section 751 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1996—Par. (1). Pub. L. 104–317, $\S606(a)$, inserted "Salt Lake City and" before "Ogden".

Par. (2). Pub. L. 104-317, §606(b), inserted ", Provo, and St. George" after "Salt Lake City".

§ 126. Vermont

Vermont constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Bennington, Brattleboro, Burlington, Montpelier, Rutland, Saint Johnsbury, and Windsor.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 893; Pub. L. 88–312, May 28, 1964, 78 Stat. 201; Pub. L. 98–620, title IV, § 410, Nov. 8, 1984, 98 Stat. 3362.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §191 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §110, 36 Stat. 1127; Feb. 1, 1912, ch. 26, 37 Stat. 58; Feb. 28, 1929, ch. 360, 45 Stat. 1345).

Provision that "any stated term may, when adjourned, be adjourned to meet at any of the other places at Montpelier or Newport," was omitted as unnecessary and inconsistent with sections 140 and 141 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

 $1984\mathrm{-Pub}.$ L. $98\mathrm{-}620$ provided for holding court at Bennington.

 $1964\mbox{--Pub.}$ L. $88\mbox{--3}12$ provided for holding court at Montpelier and Saint Johnsbury.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1984 AMENDMENT

Amendment by Pub. L. 98-620 effective Jan. 1, 1985, and not to affect the composition, or preclude the service, of any grand or petit jury summoned, impaneled, or actually serving on that date, see section 411 of Pub. L. 98-620. set out as a note under section 85 of this title.

§ 127. Virginia

Virginia is divided into two judicial districts, to be known as the Eastern and Western districts of Virginia.

Eastern District

(a) The Eastern District comprises the counties of Accomac, Amelia, Arlington, Brunswick, Caroline, Charles City, Chesterfield, Dinwiddie,