(Pub. L. 100–696, title VII, $\S701$, Nov. 18, 1988, 102 Stat. 4599.)

§ 460zz-1. Establishment

(a) In general

There is hereby established the Mississippi National River and Recreation Area (hereinafter in this subchapter referred to as the "Area") which shall consist of the State designated Mississippi Critical Area encompassing that portion of the Mississippi River and adjacent lands generally within the Saint Paul-Minneapolis Metropolitan Area, as depicted on the map entitled Mississippi National River and Recreation Area numbered MI-NRA/80,000 and dated April 1987. The map shall be on file and available for public inspection in the offices of the Department of the Interior in Washington, District of Columbia, and in the offices of the Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities Area in Saint Paul, Minnesota.

(b) Boundaries

The Secretary of the Interior (hereinafter referred to as the "Secretary") shall publish in the Federal Register, as soon as practicable after November 18, 1988, a detailed description and map of the boundaries established under subsection (a) of this section.

(Pub. L. 100–696, title VII, $\S702,$ Nov. 18, 1988, 102 Stat. 4600.)

§ 460zz-2. Mississippi River Coordinating Commission

(a) Establishment

There is hereby established a Mississippi River Coordinating Commission whose purpose shall be to assist Federal, State, and local authorities in the development and implementation of an integrated resource management plan for those lands and waters as specified in section 460zz–1 of this title. The Commission shall consist of the following 22 members appointed by the Secretary of the Interior:

- (1) The Director of the National Park Service, or his designee.
- (2) The Chief of the Corps of Engineers, or his designee.
- (3) The Director of the Fish and Wildlife Service, or his designee.
- (4) Three individuals, from recommendations by the Governor of Minnesota, to represent the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Department of Transportation, and Minnesota Environmental Quality Board.
- (5) One individual, to represent the Minnesota Historical Society.
- (6) One individual, to represent the Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities Area.
- (7) Four elected officials, to represent the cities of Saint Paul and Minneapolis.
- (8) Four elected officials, from recommendations by the Governor of Minnesota, to represent the interests of the other affected municipalities and counties.
- (9) One individual, to represent the Metropolitan Parks and Open Spaces Commission.
- (10) One individual, from recommendations by the Governor of Minnesota, to represent the interests of commercial navigation.

(11) Four individuals, from recommendations by the Governor of Minnesota, to be chosen from the general public.

(b) Terms

- (1) Except as provided in paragraphs (2) and (3), members (other than ex officio members) shall be appointed for terms of three years.
 - (2) Of the members first appointed—
 - (A) Under paragraph (4) of subsection (a) of this section:
 - (i) One shall be appointed for a term of one year.
 - (ii) One shall be appointed for a term of two years.
 - (B) Under paragraphs (7) and (8) of subsection (a) of this section, one shall be appointed for a term of one year.
 - (C) Under paragraph (11) of subsection (a) of this section:
 - (i) One shall be appointed for a term of one year.
 - (ii) One shall be appointed for a term of two years.
 - (iii) One shall be appointed for a term of four years.
- (3) Any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring before the expiration of the term for which his predecessor was appointed shall be appointed only for the remainder of such term. A member may serve after the expiration of his term until his successor has taken office.

(c) Compensation

Members of the Commission shall serve without pay. While away from their homes or regular places of business in the performance of services for the Commission, members of the Commission shall be allowed travel expenses, including per diem in lieu of subsistence, in the same manner as persons employed intermittently in Government service are allowed expenses under section 5703 of title 5.

(d) Chairperson

The Chairperson of the Commission shall be appointed by the Secretary from among the members of the Commission nominated by the Governor of Minnesota and shall serve for a term of three years.

(e) Quorum

Twelve members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum.

(f) Meetings

The Commission shall meet at the call of the Chairman 1 or a majority of its members.

(g) Development of policies and programs

As a coordinator and advisory organization, the Commission shall assist the Secretary, the State of Minnesota and local units of government, endeavoring to use existing Federal, State, regional, and local plans and programs where consistent with the intent and goals of this part, in developing the following:

(1) Policies and programs for the preservation and enhancement of the environmental values of the Area.

¹ So in original. Probably should be "Chairperson".