(2) administer newly acquired land subject to applicable laws (including regulations).

(c) Personal property

The Secretary may acquire personal property associated with, and appropriate for, interpretation of the Park.

(d) Conservation easements and covenants

The Secretary is authorized to acquire conservation easements and enter into covenants regarding lands in or adjacent to the Park from willing sellers only. Such conservation easements and covenants shall have the effect of protecting the scenic, natural, and historic resources on adjacent lands and preserving the natural or historic setting of the Park when viewed from within or outside the Park.

(e) Support facilities

The National Park Service is authorized to acquire from willing sellers, land outside the Park boundary but in close proximity to the Park, for the development of visitor, administrative, museum, curatorial, and maintenance facilities.

(Pub. L. 107-373, §6, Dec. 19, 2002, 116 Stat. 3106.)

§ 410iii-5. Administration

The Secretary shall administer the Park in accordance with this subchapter and the provisions of law generally applicable to units of the National Park System, including—

- (1) sections 1, 2, 3, and 4 of this title; and
- (2) sections 461 to 467 of this title.

(Pub. L. 107-373, §7, Dec. 19, 2002, 116 Stat. 3106.)

§ 410iii-6. Management of Park

(a) Management plan

The Secretary, in consultation with the Commission, shall prepare a management plan for the Park. In particular, the management plan shall contain provisions to address the needs of owners of non-Federal land, including independent nonprofit organizations within the boundaries of the Park.

(b) Submission of plan to Congress

Not later than 3 years after December 19, 2002, the Secretary shall submit the management plan for the Park to the Committee on Resources of the House of Representatives and the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources of the Senate.

(Pub. L. 107-373, §8, Dec. 19, 2002, 116 Stat. 3106.)

CHANGE OF NAME

Committee on Resources of House of Representatives changed to Committee on Natural Resources of House of Representatives by House Resolution No. 6, One Hundred Tenth Congress, Jan. 5, 2007.

§ 410iii-7. Cedar Creek and Belle Grove National Historical Park Advisory Commission

(a) Establishment

There is established the Cedar Creek and Belle Grove National Historical Park Advisory Commission.

(b) Duties

The Commission shall—

- (1) advise the Secretary in the preparation and implementation of a general management plan described in section 410iii-6 of this title; and
- (2) advise the Secretary with respect to the identification of sites of significance outside the Park boundary deemed necessary to fulfill the purposes of this subchapter.

(c) Membership

(1) Composition

The Commission shall be composed of 15 members appointed by the Secretary so as to include the following:

- (A) 1 representative from the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- (B) 1 representative each from the local governments of Strasburg, Middletown, Frederick County, Shenandoah County, and Warren County.
- (C) 2 representatives of private landowners within the Park.
- (D) 1 representative from a citizen interest group.
- (E) 1 representative from the Cedar Creek Battlefield Foundation.
- (F) 1 representative from Belle Grove, Incorporated.
- $(\tilde{\mathbf{G}})$ 1 representative from the National Trust for Historic Preservation.
- (H) 1 representative from the Shenandoah Valley Battlefields Foundation.
- (I) I ex-officio representative from the National Park Service.
- (J) 1 ex-officio representative from the United States Forest Service.

(2) Chairperson

The Chairperson of the Commission shall be elected by the members to serve a term of one year renewable for one additional year.

(3) Vacancies

A vacancy on the Commission shall be filled in the same manner in which the original appointment was made.

(4) Terms of service

(A) In general

Each member shall be appointed for a term of 3 years and may be reappointed for not more than 2 successive terms.

(B) Initial members

Of the members first appointed under paragraph (1), the Secretary shall appoint—

- (i) 4 members for a term of 1 year;
- (ii) 5 members for a term of 2 years; and
- (iii) 6 members for a term of 3 years.

(5) Extended service

A member may serve after the expiration of that member's term until a successor has taken office.

(6) Majority rule

The Commission shall act and advise by affirmative vote of a majority of its members.

(7) Meetings

The Commission shall meet at least quarterly at the call of the chairperson or a majority of the members of the Commission.