Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

Amendments

2004—Pub. L. 108-455 and 108-482 amended section identically, inserting "Colorado Springs," after "Boulder,".

 $1984\mathrm{--Pub.}$ L. $98\mathrm{--620}$ provided for holding court at Boulder.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1984 AMENDMENT

Pub. L. 98-620, title IV, §411, Nov. 8, 1984, 98 Stat. 3362, provided that:

"(a) The amendments made by this subtitle [subtitle B (\$ 404-411) of title IV of Pub. L. 98-620, amending this section and sections 90, 93, 112, 124, and 126 of this title and enacting provisions set out as notes under sections 1, 90, 93, and 124 of this title] shall take effect on January 1, 1985.

"(b) The amendments made by this subtitle shall not affect the composition, or preclude the service, of any grand or petit jury summoned, impaneled, or actually serving on the effective date of this subtitle [Jan. 1, 1985]."

§86. Connecticut

Connecticut constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Bridgeport, Hartford, New Haven, New London, and Waterbury.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 875; Pub. L. 87-36, §3(b), May 19, 1961, 75 Stat. 83; Pub. L. 89-558, Sept. 7, 1966, 80 Stat. 705.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §147 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §74, 36 Stat. 1108; Feb. 27, 1921, ch. 74, 41 Stat. 1146; June 15, 1933, ch. 80, 48 Stat. 148; Dec. 28, 1945, ch. 599, 59 Stat. 663).

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

Amendments

1966—Pub. L. 89–558 provided for holding court at New London.

1961—Pub. L. 87-36 provided for holding court at Bridgeport and Waterbury.

§87. Delaware

Delaware constitutes one judicial district. Court shall be held at Wilmington.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 875.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §148 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §75, 36 Stat. 1108).

Minor changes in phraseology were made.

§88. District of Columbia

The District of Columbia constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Washington.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 875.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

This section expressly makes the District of Columbia a judicial district of the United States.

Section 41 of this title also makes the District of Columbia a judicial circuit of the United States.

Section 11-305 of the District of Columbia Code, 1940 ed., provides that the District Court of the United States for the District of Columbia shall possess the same powers and exercise the same jurisdiction as the district courts of the United States, and shall be deemed a court of the United States.

It is consonant with the ruling of the Supreme Court in O'Donoghue v. United States, 1933, 53 S.Ct. 740, 289 U.S. 516, 77 L.Ed. 1356, that the (then called) Supreme Court and Court of Appeals of the District of Columbia are constitutional courts of the United States, ordained and established under article III of the Constitution, Congress enacted that the Court of Appeals "shall hereafter be known as the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia'' (Act of June 7, 1934, 48 Stat. 926); and also changed the name of the Supreme Court of the District of Columbia to "district court of the United States for the District of Columbia" (Act of June 25, 1936, 49 Stat. 1921). In Federal Trade Commission v. Klesner, 1927, 47 S.Ct. 557, 274 U.S. 145, 71 L.Ed. 972, the Supreme Court ruled: "* * * The parallelism between the Supreme Court of the District [of Columbia] and the Court of Appeals of the District [of Columbia], on the one hand, and the district courts of the United States and the circuit courts of appeals, on the other, in the consideration and disposition of cases involving what among the States would be regarded as within Federal jurisdiction, is complete." See also to the same effect Clairborne-Annapolis Ferry Company v. United States, 1932, 52 S.Ct. 440, 285 U.S. 382, 76 L.Ed. 808.

§89. Florida

Florida is divided into three judicial districts to be known as the Northern, Middle, and Southern Districts of Florida.

Northern District

(a) The Northern District comprises the counties of Alachua, Bay, Calhoun, Dixie, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Taylor, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington.

Court for the Northern District shall be held at Gainesville, Marianna, Panama City, Pensacola, and Tallahassee.

Middle District

(b) The Middle District comprises the counties of Baker, Bradford, Brevard, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, De Soto, Duval, Flagler, Glades, Hamilton, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Hillsborough, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Marion, Nassau, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, St. Johns, Sarasota, Seminole, Sumter, Suwannee, Union, and Volusia.

Court for the Middle District shall be held at Fernandina, Fort Myers, Jacksonville, Live Oak, Ocala, Orlando, Saint Petersburg, and Tampa.

Southern District

(c) The Southern District comprises the counties of Broward, Dade, Highlands, Indian River, Martin, Monroe, Okeechobee, Palm Beach, and St. Lucie.

Court for the Southern District shall be held at Fort Lauderdale, Fort Pierce, Key West, Miami, and West Palm Beach.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 876; July 17, 1952, ch. 929, 66 Stat. 757; Pub. L. 87-36, §3(f), May 19, 1961, 75 Stat. 83; Pub. L. 87-562, §1, July 30, 1962, 76 Stat. 247; Pub. L. 91-272, §10, June 2, 1970, 84 Stat. 298; Pub. L. 95-408, §4(a), Oct. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 884; Pub. L. 100-702, title X, §1021(a), Nov. 19, 1988, 102 Stat. 4672.)