the United States alleged to have been committed anywhere within the territory of the respective judicial districts as such districts were constituted before or after the effective date of this Act."

§94. Indiana

Indiana is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Northern and Southern Districts of Indiana.

Northern District

- (a) The Northern District comprises three divisions.
 - (1) The Fort Wayne Division comprises the counties of Adams, Allen, Blackford, De Kalb, Grant, Huntington, Jay, Lagrange, Noble, Steuben, Wells, and Whitley.

Court for the Fort Wayne Division shall be held at Fort Wayne.

(2) The South Bend Division comprises the counties of Cass, Elkhart, Fulton, Kosciusko, La Porte, Marshall, Miami, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, and Wabash.

Court for the South Bend Division shall be held at South Bend.

- (3) The Hammond Division comprises the counties of Benton, Carroll, Jasper, Lake, Newton, Porter, Tippecanoe, Warren, and White.
- Court for the Hammond Division shall be held at Hammond and Lafayette.

Southern District

- (b) The Southern District comprises four divisions.
 - (1) The Indianapolis Division comprises the counties of Bartholomew, Boone, Brown, Clinton, Decatur, Delaware, Fayette, Fountain, Franklin, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Howard, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Randolph, Rush, Shelby, Tipton, Union, and Wayne.

Court for the Indianapolis Division shall be held at Indianapolis and Richmond.

- (2) The Terre Haute Division comprises the counties of Clay, Greene, Knox, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Vermilion, and Vigo.
- Court for the Terre Haute Division shall be held at Terre Haute.
- (3) The Evansville Division comprises the counties of Davies, Dubois, Gibson, Martin, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh, and Warrick.

Court for the Evansville Division shall be held at Evansville.

(4) The New Albany Division comprises the counties of Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Floyd, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Lawrence, Ohio, Orange, Ripley, Scott, Switzerland, and Washington.

Court for the New Albany Division shall be held at New Albany.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 878; Feb. 10, 1954, ch. 6, §2(b)(7), 68 Stat. 11; Pub. L. 91–272, §9, June 2, 1970, 84 Stat. 298.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §153 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §80, 36 Stat. 1110; Apr. 21, 1928, ch. 393, 45 Stat. 437)

Words "when the time fixed as above for the sitting of a court shall fall on a legal holiday the terms shall begin on the next day following," were omitted as within the discretion of the court and coverable by rule of court.

A provision that terms should not be limited to any particular number of days, and that a term about to commence in another division might be adjourned until the business of the court in session was concluded, was omitted as covered by section 140 of this title.

A provision authorizing indictments for offenses committed in divisions other than that wherein a grand jury is sitting was omitted as covered by Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. Rules 6. 7.

Provisions as to maintenance of clerks' offices were omitted as covered by sections 452 and 751 of this title.

The following provisions were omitted as either executed or covered by section 501 [now 541] et seq. and section 541 [now 561] et seq. of this title, containing similar provisions as to United States attorneys and marshals:

"A. The senior district judge for the district of Indiana in office immediately prior to April 21, 1928, shall be the district judge for the southern district as constituted by this section; the junior district judge for the district of Indiana immediately prior to April 21, 1928, shall be the district judge for the northern district as constituted by this section; and the district attorney and marshal for the district of Indiana in office immediately prior to April 21, 1928, shall be during the remainder of their present terms of office the district attorney and marshal for the southern district as constituted by this section.

"B. The President is authorized and directed to appoint, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, a district attorney and a marshal for the United States District Court for the Northern District of Indiana."

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1970—Subsec. (b)(1). Pub. L. 91–272 provided for holding court at Richmond.

1954—Subsec. (a)(3). Act Feb. 10, 1954, provided for holding court at Lafayette.

§ 95. Iowa

Iowa is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Northern and Southern Districts of Iowa.

Northern District

- (a) The Northern District comprises four divisions
 - (1) The Cedar Rapids Division comprises the counties of Benton, Cedar, Grundy, Hardin, Iowa, Jones, Linn, and Tama.
 - Court for the Cedar Rapids Division shall be held at Cedar Rapids.
 - (2) The Eastern Division comprises the counties of Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Howard, Jackson, Mitchell, and Winneshiek.
 - Court for the Eastern Division shall be held at Dubuque and Waterloo.
 - (3) The Western Division comprises the counties of Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Ida, Lyon, Monona, O'Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, Sac, Sioux, and Woodbury.
 - Court for the Western Division shall be held at Sioux City.
 - (4) The Central Division comprises the counties of Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cerro