TITLE 48—TERRITORIES AND INSULAR POSSESSIONS

Chap

Chap.		Sec.
1.	Bureau of Insular Affairs [Omitted	
	or Repealed]	1
2.	Alaska	21
3.	Hawaii	491
4.	Puerto Rico	731
5.	Philippine Islands [Omitted, Re-	
	pealed, or Transferred]	1001
6.	Canal Zone [Omitted, Repealed, or	
	Transferred]	1301
7.	Virgin Islands	1391
8.	Guano Islands	1411
8A.	Guam	1421
9.	Samoa, Tutuila, Manua, Swains Is-	
	land, and Trust Territory of the	
	Pacific Islands [Transferred]	1431
10.	Territorial Provisions of a General	
	Nature	1451
11.	Alien Owners of Land	1501
12.	Virgin Islands [1954]	1541
13.	Eastern Samoa	1661
14.	Trust Territory of the Pacific Is-	
	lands	1681
15.	Conveyance of Submerged Lands	
	to Territories	1701
16.	Delegates to Congress	1711
17.	Northern Mariana Islands	1801
18.	Micronesia, Marshall Islands, and	
	Palau	1901
19.	Pacific Policy Reports	2001
	• •	

CHAPTER 1—BUREAU OF INSULAR AFFAIRS

§1. Omitted

CODIFICATION

Section, act July 1, 1902, ch. 1369, §87, 32 Stat. 712, provided that the Division of Insular Affairs of the War Department should be known as the Bureau of Insular Affairs and prescribed its business.

By Ex. Ord. No. 6726, eff. May 29, 1934, the Division of Territories and Island Possessions was established in the Department of the Interior, and the functions of the Bureau pertaining to the administration of the Government of Puerto Rico, together with the personnel, equipment and funds, were transferred thereto.

By Reorg. Plan No. II of 1939, §4(d), eff. July 1, 1939, 4 F.R. 2731, 53 Stat. 1433, set out in the Appendix to Title 5, Government Organization and Employees. The Bureau of Insular Affairs of the War Department and its functions were transferred to the Department of the Interior and consolidated with the Division of Territories and Island Possessions, to be administered under the direction and supervision of the Secretary of the Interior. The office of the Chief of the Bureau and offices subordinate thereto provided for in section 14 of act June 4, 1920, ch. 227, 41 Stat. 769, were abolished and all their functions transferred to, and were to be exercised by, the Director of the Division of Territories and Island Possessions.

Page 1

§2. Repealed. Aug. 10, 1956, ch. 1041, §53, 70A Stat. 641

Section, acts June 3, 1916, ch. 134, §14, 39 Stat. 176; June 4, 1920, ch. 227, subch. I, §14, 41 Stat. 769, prescribed composition of Bureau of Insular Affairs.

§3. Repealed. Pub. L. 89-554, §8(a), Sept. 6, 1966, 80 Stat. 640

Section, acts June 25, 1906, ch. 3528, 34 Stat. 456; June 4, 1920, ch. 227, subch. I, §14, 41 Stat. 769, provided for appointment of Chief of Bureau.

§§ 4, 5. Repealed. Dec. 16, 1930, ch. 14, §1, 46 Stat. 1029

Section 4, acts Mar. 2, 1907, ch. 2511, 34 Stat. 1162; Mar. 23, 1910, ch. 115, 36 Stat. 248, authorized Secretary of War to detail an Army officer to act as assistant to Chief of Bureau of Insular Affairs of War Department and directed that provisions of law as to transfer of officers of line to a department for tours of service would apply to vacancy created by this section and to return of detailed officer to Army.

Section 5, act Mar. 23, 1910, ch. 115, 36 Stat. 248, authorized Secretary of War to detail one additional Army officer as assistant to Chief of Bureau of Insular Affairs under same provisions in regard to vacancies and return as provided in section 4 of this title.

CHAPTER 2—ALASKA

Sec

- 21 to 50d–1. Omitted or Repealed.
- Appropriations for benefit of natives; pur-50e. chase of supplies for resale to natives, cooperatives, and Department employees.
- 50f. Disposal of miscellaneous revenues from schools, hospitals, and other Indian Service facilities.

50g to 488f. Omitted, Repealed, or Transferred.

Admission as State

Alaska was admitted into the Union on January 3, 1959, on issuance of Proc. No. 3269, eff. Jan. 3, 1959, 24 F.R. 81, 73 Stat. c16, set out below, as required by sections 1 and 8(c) of the Alaska Statehood Law, Pub. L. 85-508, July 7, 1958, 72 Stat. 339, set out below.

ALASKA STATEHOOD

Pub. L. 85-508, July 7, 1958, 72 Stat. 339, as amended, provided:

"[SEC. 1. Declaration; acceptance, ratification, and confirmation of Constitution.] That, subject to the provisions of this Act, and upon issuance of the proclamation required by section 8(c) of this Act, the State of Alaska is hereby declared to be a State of the United States of America, is declared admitted into the Union on an equal footing with the other States in all respects whatever, and the constitution formed pursuant to the provisions of the Act of the Territorial Legislature of Alaska entitled, 'An Act to provide for the holding of a constitutional convention to prepare a constitution for the State of Alaska; to submit the con-