Court shall be held at Coquille, Eugene or Springfield, Klamath Falls, Medford, Pendleton, and Portland.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 888; Aug. 3, 1950, ch. 514, 64 Stat. 393; Pub. L. 91–272, §7, June 2, 1970, 84 Stat. 297; Pub. L. 106–518, title V, §502, Nov. 13, 2000, 114 Stat. 2422.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §183 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §102, 36 Stat. 1122; Nov. 6, 1945, ch. 447, 59 Stat. 555).

Provisions relating to appointment and residence of deputies by the clerk and marshal, and maintenance of offices by said officers, were omitted as covered by sections 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

2000—Pub. L. 106-518 substituted "Eugene or Springfield" for "Eugene".

 $1970\mathrm{-Pub.}$ L. $91\mathrm{-}272$ provided for holding court at Coquille.

 $1950\mathrm{--Act}$ Aug. 3, 1950, provided for holding court at Eugene.

§118. Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania is divided into three judicial districts to be known as the Eastern, Middle, and Western Districts of Pennsylvania.

Eastern District

(a) The Eastern District comprises the counties of Berks, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lancaster, Lehigh, Montgomery, Northampton, and Philadelphia.

Court for the Eastern District shall be held at Allentown, Easton, Lancaster, Reading, and Philadelphia.

Middle District

(b) The Middle District comprises the counties of Adams, Bradford, Cameron, Carbon, Centre, Clinton, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lebanon, Luzerne, Lycoming, Mifflin, Monroe, Montour, Northumberland, Perry, Pike, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Wayne, Wyoming, and York.

Court for the Middle District shall be held at Harrisburg, Lewisburg, Scranton, Wilkes-Barre, and Williamsport.

Western District

(c) The Western District comprises the counties of Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Greene, Indiana, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Mercer, Somerset, Venango, Warren, Washington, and Westmoreland.

Court for the Western District shall be held at Erie, Johnstown, and Pittsburgh.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 888; Pub. L. 91–272, §6, June 2, 1970, 84 Stat. 297; Pub. L. 95–573, §4, Nov. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 2458; Pub. L. 102–396, title IX, §9161, Oct. 6, 1992, 106 Stat. 1947; Pub. L. 105–277, div. A, §101(b) [title VI, §624(a)], Oct. 21, 1998, 112 Stat. 2681–50, 2681–116.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §184 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §103, 36 Stat. 1123; Mar. 3, 1913, ch. 113, 37 Stat. 730; June 6, 1914, ch. 104, 38 Stat. 385; Sept. 9, 1914, ch. 296, 38 Stat. 713; Apr. 26, 1926, ch. 185, 44 Stat. 324; June 27, 1930, ch. 634, 46 Stat. 820; Aug. 3, 1935, ch. 433, 49 Stat. 514; May 13, 1936, ch. 385, 49 Stat. 1271; June 13, 1938, ch. 351, 52 Stat. 674; Mar. 5, 1942, ch. 143, 56 Stat. 132).

Provisions relating to maintenance of offices at certain places by the clerks and marshals were omitted as covered by sections 541 [see 561] and 751 of this title.

Provisions for the continuance of terms were omitted as covered by section 139 of this title.

Provisions with respect to the return of process, and the places of keeping court papers, were omitted as matters for determination by rule of court or for the action of the judicial council in cooperation with the Administrative Office of the United States Courts.

The provisions for trial of cases at Lewisburg and Erie unless counsel consent to trial elsewhere were omitted as inconsistent with the uniform practice provided by this title.

Changes were made in phraseology and arrangement.

SENATE REVISION AMENDMENT

By Senate amendment to the bill, Blair County was transferred from the Middle District to the Western District of Pennsylvania. This was in conformity with Act July 11, 1947, ch. 224, 61 Stat. 310, which so amended section 184 of title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., the source of this section. See 80th Congress Senate Report No. 1559.

AMENDMENTS

1998—Subsec. (a). Pub. L. 105–277, §101(b) [title VI, §624(a)(1)], substituted "and Philadelphia" for "Philadelphia, and Schuylkill".

Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 105-277, \$101(b) [title VI, \$624(a)(2)], inserted "Schuylkill," after "Potter,".

1992—Subsec. (a). Pub. L. 102–396 inserted "Lancaster," before "Reading".

1978—Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 95-573 provided for holding court at Johnstown.

 $1970\mathrm{--Subsec.}$ (a). Pub. L. $91\mathrm{--}272$ provided for holding court at Allentown and Reading.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1998 AMENDMENT

Pub. L. 105–277, div. A, 101(b) [title VI, 624(b)], Oct. 21, 1998, 112 Stat. 2681–50, 2681–116, provided that:

"(1) This section [amending this section] and the amendments made by this section shall take effect 180 days after the date of the enactment of this Act [Oct. 21, 1998].

"(2) This section and the amendments made by this section shall not affect any action commenced before the effective date of this section and pending on such date in the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.

"(3) This section and the amendments made by this section shall not affect the composition, or preclude the service, of any grand or petit jury summoned, impaneled, or actually serving on the effective date of this section."

§119. Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico constitutes one judicial district. Court shall be held at Mayaguez, Ponce, and San Juan.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 889.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on sections 863 and 864 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., Territories and Insular Possessions (Apr. 12, 1900, ch. 191, §§ 34, 35, 31 Stat. 84, 85; Jan. 7, 1913, ch. 6, 37 Stat. 648; Mar. 2, 1917, ch. 145, §§ 41, 42, 39 Stat. 965, 966; Mar. 4, 1921, ch. 161, §1, 41 Stat. 1412; Feb. 13, 1925, ch. 229, §§1, 13, 43 Stat. 936, 942; Dec. 13, 1926, ch. 6, §1, 44 Stat. 919; Jan. 31, 1928, ch. 14, §1, 45 Stat. 54; May 17, 1932, ch. 190, 47 Stat. 158; Mar. 26, 1938, ch. 51, §2, 52 Stat. 118).