Section consolidates parts of sections 863 and 864 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., with changes in phraseology necessary to effect consolidation.

The provision of sections 863 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., for appointment of a district judge is incorporated in section 133 of this title; for tenure, in section 134 of this title, and for salary was omitted as covered by section 135 of this title.

The provisions of section 863 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., for appointment and tenure of United States attorneys and marshals are incorporated in sections 501 [now 541], 504 [now 541] to 544], and 541 [see 561] of this title.

The provisions of section 863 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., for appointment of United States Commissioners and other court officers are incorporated in sections 631 and 751 of this title.

The provision of section 864 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., as to the holding of regular and special terms of court was omitted as covered by sections 138 and 141 of this title.

The provision of section 864 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., that the district court shall be attached to the first circuit is incorporated in section 41 of this title.

The provision of section 864 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., for appeals to the circuit court of appeals is incorporated in section 1295 of this title.

Other provisions of sections 863 and 864 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., are retained in title 48.

## §120. Rhode Island

Rhode Island constitutes one judicial district. Court shall be held at Providence.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 889.)

# HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §185 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §104, 36 Stat. 1123; Feb. 1, 1912, ch. 27, 37 Stat. 59).

Changes in phraseology were made.

# §121. South Carolina

South Carolina constitutes one judicial district comprising eleven divisions.

- The Charleston Division comprises the counties of Berkeley, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Dorchester, and Georgetown.
- Court for the Charleston Division shall be held at Charleston.
- (2) The Columbia Division comprises the counties of Kershaw, Lee, Lexington, Richland, and Sumter.
- Court for the Columbia Division shall be held at Columbia.
- (3) The Florence Division comprises the counties of Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Horry, Marion, Marlboro, and Williamsburg.
- Court for the Florence Division shall be held at Florence.
- (4) The Aiken Division comprises the counties of Aiken, Allendale, and Barnwell.
- Court for the Aiken Division shall be held at Aiken.
- (5) The Orangeburg Division comprises the counties of Bamberg, Calhoun, and Orangeburg.
- Court for the Orangeburg Division shall be held at Orangeburg.
- (6) The Greenville Division comprises the counties of Greenville and Laurens.
- Court for the Greenville Division shall be held at Greenville.

- (7) The Rock Hill Division comprises the counties of Chester, Fairfield, Lancaster, and York.
- Court for the Rock Hill Division shall be held at Rock Hill.
- (8) The Greenwood Division comprises the counties of Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, McCormick, Newberry, and Saluda.
- Court for the Greenwood Division shall be held at Greenwood.
- (9) The Anderson Division comprises the counties of Anderson, Oconee, and Pickens.
- Court for the Anderson Division shall be held at Anderson.
- (10) The Spartanburg Division comprises the counties of Cherokee, Spartanburg, and Union.
- Court for the Spartanburg Division shall be held at Spartanburg.
- (11) The Beaufort Division comprises the counties of Beaufort, Hampton, and Jasper.
- Court for the Beaufort Division shall be held at Beaufort.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 889; Pub. L. 89–242, §1(a), Oct. 7, 1965, 79 Stat. 951; Pub. L. 99–657, §2, Nov. 14, 1986, 100 Stat. 3670; Pub. L. 102–140, title III, §304, Oct. 28, 1991, 105 Stat. 810.)

### HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §186 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §105, 36 Stat. 1123; Feb. 5, 1912, ch. 28, 37 Stat. 60; Mar. 3, 1915, ch. 100, §5, 38 Stat. 961; Sept. 1, 1916, ch. 434, 39 Stat. 721; Mar. 4, 1923, ch. 261, 42 Stat. 1486; Jan. 30, 1925, ch. 118, 43 Stat. 800; June 26, 1926, ch. 696, §§1–3, 44 Stat. 773; June 20, 1936, ch. 637, §§1–3, 49 Stat. 1558, 1559; June 12, 1940, ch. 335, 54 Stat. 344; June 28, 1943, ch. 173, title II, §204, 57 Stat. 244; Dec. 13, 1944, ch. 556, 58 Stat. 801).

The last sentence of section 186 of title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., relating to trial of criminal cases in the division in which the offense was committed, was omitted as fully covered by Rules 18-22 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure.

A provision relating to the places of the clerks' offices was omitted as covered by section 751 of this title.

The provision respecting court accommodations at Orangeburg was omitted as covered by section 142 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

### AMENDMENTS

1991—Par. (4). Pub. L. 102–140, §304(1), struck out reference to Hampton County.

Par. (11). Pub. L. 102-140, §304(2), inserted reference to Hampton County.

1986—Pub. L. 99–657, 2(1), substituted ''eleven divisions'' for ''ten divisions'' in introductory text.

Par. (1). Pub. L. 99-657, §2(2), struck out "Beaufort," after "counties of" and substituted "and Georgetown" for "Georgetown, and Jasper".

Par. (11). Pub. L. 99-657, §2(3), added par. (11).

1965—Pub. L. 89-242 consolidated into a single district the 10 divisions of the state which had formerly been divided into an Eastern and a Western District.

### EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1986 AMENDMENT

Pub. L. 99-657, §4, Nov. 14, 1986, 100 Stat. 3670, provided that:

"(a) EFFECTIVE DATE.—(1) The amendments made by sections 2 and 3 [amending this section and section 90 of this title] take effect 90 days after the date of the enactment of this Act [Nov. 14, 1986].