"(2) The amendment made by section 4 [enacting this note] takes effect on the date of the enactment of this Act.

this Act [amending this section and section 90 of this title] shall not affect any action commenced before the effective date of such amendments and pending on such date

"(c) JURIES.—The amendments made by this Act [amending this section and section 90 of this title] shall not affect the composition, or preclude the service, of any grand or petit jury summoned, empaneled, or actually serving on the effective date of such amendments."

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1965 AMENDMENT

Pub. L. 89–242, §6, Oct. 7, 1965, 79 Stat. 953, provided that: "The provisions of this Act [amending this section and section 133 of this title and enacting provisions set out as a note below] shall become effective on the first day of the month following the date of enactment of this Act [Oct. 7, 1965]."

Consolidation of South Carolina Into a Single Judicial District

Sections 2 to 5 of Pub. L. 89–242 provided for the consolidation, in compliance with section 132 of this title, of the Eastern and Western Districts of South Carolina into a single district with continuing jurisdiction over civil cases and criminal acts pending or committed prior to Nov. 1, 1965, and appropriate provisions for the appointment or transfer of United States attorneys, marshals, and other court personnel, then serving, from the two districts to the consolidated district.

§ 122. South Dakota

South Dakota constitutes one judicial district comprising four divisions.

- (1) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Brown, Campbell, Clark, Codington, Corson, Day, Deuel, Edmonds, Grant, Hamlin, McPherson, Marshall, Roberts, Spink, and Walworth.
- Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Aberdeen.
- (2) The Southern Division comprises the counties of Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Brule, Charles Mix, Clay, Davison, Douglas, Hanson, Hutchinson, Kingsbury, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner, Union, and Yankton.
- Court for the Southern Division shall be held at Sioux Falls.
- (3) The central division comprises the counties of Buffalo, Dewey, Faulk, Gregory, Haakon, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jerauld, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Todd, Tripp, and Ziebach.
- Court for the Central Division shall be held at Pierre.
- (4) The Western Division comprises the counties of Bennett, Butte, Custer, Fall River, Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins, and Shannon.
- Court for the Western Division shall be held at Deadwood and Rapid City.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 889; Pub. L. 89-638, Oct. 10, 1966, 80 Stat. 883; Pub. L. 92-376, Aug. 10, 1972, 86 Stat. 529; Pub. L. 101-650, title III, § 324(b), Dec. 1, 1990, 104 Stat. 5120.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §187 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §106, 36 Stat. 1123; June 11, 1932, ch. 242, 47 Stat. 300)

A provision relating to maintenance of offices by the clerk was omitted as covered by sections 452 and 751 of this title

Provisions that the Northern Division included Lake Traverse Indian Reservation and that part of Standing Rock Indian Reservation lying in South Dakota; that the Southern Division included the Yorkton Indian Reservation; that the Central Division included the Cheyenne River, Lower Brule, and Crow Creek Indian Reservations; and that the Western Division included Rosebud and Pine Ridge Indian Reservations, were all omitted as surplusage. (See Reviser's Note under section 114 of this title.)

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1990—Par. (3). Pub. L. 101-650, §324(b)(1), struck out "Jackson," after "Hyde,".

Par. (4). Pub. L. 101–650, \$324(b)(2), inserted "Jackson," after "Harding," and substituted "and Shannon" for "Shannon, Washabaugh, and Washington".

1972—Par. (2). Pub. L. 92-376, §1(a), removed Gregory County from the Southern Division.

Par. (3). Pub. L. 92–376, \$1(b), added Gregory, Mellette, Todd, and Tripp counties to the Central Division and removed Armstrong county from the Central Division.

Par. (4). Pub. L. 92–376, §1(c), removed Mellette, Todd, and Tripp counties from the Western Division.

1966—Pub. L. 89-638 provided for holding court at Rapid City.

§ 123. Tennessee

Tennessee is divided into three judicial districts to be known as the Eastern, Middle, and Western Districts of Tennessee.

Eastern District

- (a) The Eastern District comprises four divisions.
 - (1) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Grainger, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, and Union.
 - Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Knoxville.
 - (2) The Northeastern Division comprises the counties of Carter, Cocke, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi, and Washington.
 - Court for the Northeastern Division shall be held at Greenville.
 - (3) The Southern Division comprises the counties of Bledsoe, Bradley, Hamilton, McMinn, Marion, Meigs, Polk, Rhea, and Sequatchie.
 - Court for the Southern Division shall be held at Chattanooga.
 - (4) The Winchester Division comprises the counties of Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Grundy, Lincoln, Moore, Van Buren, and Warren.
 - Court for the Winchester Division shall be held at Winchester.

Middle District

- (b) The Middle District comprises three divisions.
 - The Nashville Division comprises the counties of Cannon, Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Houston, Humphreys, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford,