such counties were omitted as surplusage. (See Reviser's Note under section 114 of this title.)

Pend Oreille County of the northern division of the eastern district and Grays Harbor of the southern division of the western district were created since the enactment of the Judicial Code.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

2007—Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 110–161 substituted "Bellingham, Seattle, Tacoma, and Vancouver" for "Bellingham, Seattle, and Tacoma".

1970—Subsec. (a). Pub. L. 91–272, §4(a), struck out provisions which had divided Eastern District into a Northern Division and a Southern Division.

Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 91–272, $\S4(b)$, struck out provisions which had divided Western District into a Northern Division and a Southern Division.

 $1962\mathrm{-Subsec.}$ (a)(2). Pub. L. 87–699 provided for holding court at Richland.

§ 129. West Virginia

West Virginia is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Northern and Southern Districts of West Virginia.

Northern District

(a) The Northern District comprises the counties of Barbour, Berkeley, Braxton, Brooke, Calhoun, Doddridge, Gilmer, Grant, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Jefferson, Lewis, Marion, Marshall, Mineral, Monongalia, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Pleasants, Pocahontas, Preston, Randolph, Ritchie, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, Upshur, Webster, and Wetzel.

Court for the Northern District shall be held at Clarksburg, Elkins, Fairmont, Martinsburg, and Wheeling.

Southern District

(b) The Southern District comprises the counties of Boone, Cabell, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, McDowell, Mason, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Putnam, Raleigh, Roane, Summers, Wayne, Wirt, Wood, and Wyoming.

Court for the Southern District shall be held at Beckley, Bluefield, Charleston, Huntington, Lewisburg, and Parkersburg.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 894; Pub. L. 97–471, §1, Jan. 14, 1983, 96 Stat. 2601.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §194 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §113, 36 Stat. 1129; Mar. 23, 1912, ch. 63, 37 Stat. 76; Aug. 22, 1914, ch. 265, 38 Stat. 702; Feb. 27, 1922, ch. 83, 42 Stat. 398; June 22, 1936, ch. 695, 49 Stat. 1805; Aug. 23, 1937, ch. 737, 50 Stat. 744; June 29, 1938, ch. 817, 52 Stat. 1245).

Words "with the waters thereof," after the list of counties in each district, were omitted as unnecessary, and in view of the absence of such words in similar sections relating to other States.

Provisions relating to special terms of court were omitted as covered by section 141 of this title.

A provision that the term at Fairmont be held "when suitable rooms and accommodations for holding terms of the court shall be furnished at Fairmont free of cost to the United States or until, subject to the recommendation of the Attorney General of the United States with respect to providing such rooms and accommodations for holding court at Fairmont, a Federal building containing such suitable rooms and accommodations for holding court shall be erected at such

place," was omitted as obsolete on advice of the Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts that Federal accommodations are now available

Provisions respecting court accommodations at Beckley and Lewisburg were omitted as covered by section 142 of this title.

Changes were made in arrangement and phraseology.

AMENDMENTS

1983—Subsec. (a). Pub. L. 97–471, §1(1), struck out references to Parkersburg, Wirt, and Wood counties and inserted references to Braxton, Pocahontas, and Webster counties.

Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 97-471, §1(2), struck out references to Braxton, Pocahontas, and Webster counties and inserted references to Parkersburg, Wirt, and Wood counties.

§ 130. Wisconsin

Wisconsin is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Eastern and Western districts of Wisconsin.

Eastern District

(a) The Eastern District comprises the counties of Brown, Calumet, Dodge, Door, Florence, Fond du Lac, Forest, Green Lake, Kenosha, Kewaunee, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marinette, Marquette, Menominee, Milwaukee, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Racine, Shawano, Sheboygan, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, Waushara, and Winnebago.

Court for the Eastern District shall be held at Green Bay, Milwaukee, and Oshkosh.

Western District

(b) The Western District comprises the counties of Adams, Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Grant, Green, Iowa, Iron, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Lincoln, Marathon, Monroe, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Portage, Price, Richland, Rock, Rusk, Saint Croix, Sauk, Sawyer, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Vilas, Washburn, and Wood.

Court for the Western District shall be held at Eau Claire, La Crosse, Madison, Superior, and Wausau.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 894; Pub. L. 87–573, Aug. 6, 1962, 76 Stat. 307.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §195 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §114, 36 Stat. 1129; July 24, 1935, ch. 413, 49 Stat.

Provisions for keeping the courts and their offices open at all times were omitted as covered by section 452 of this title.

Provisions for maintenance of offices by the clerk and marshal, and for the appointment and residence of a deputy marshal for Superior, were omitted as covered by sections 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title.

Words "All causes and proceedings instituted in the court at Superior shall be tried therein, unless by consent of the parties, or upon the order of the court, they are transferred to another place for trial," were omitted as unnecessary. Such provision, as to civil cases, is covered by section 1404 of this title, and, as to criminal cases, is rendered unnecessary because of inherent power of the court and Rules 18–20 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure.