1949—Act Aug. 27, 1949, abolished the three divisions which constituted the judicial district, and added Dodge City as an additional place for holding court.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1986 AMENDMENT

Amendment by Pub. L. 99–554 effective 30 days after Oct. 27, 1986, see section 302(a) of Pub. L. 99–554, set out as a note under section 581 of this title.

§ 97. Kentucky

Kentucky is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Eastern and Western Districts of Kentucky.

Eastern District

(a) The Eastern District comprises the counties of Anderson, Bath, Bell, Boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breathitt, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Clark, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Greenup, Harlan, Harrison, Henry, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Kenton, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, McCreary, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Mason, Menifee, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Scott, Shelby, Trimble, Wayne, Whitley, Wolfe, and Woodford.

Court for the Eastern District shall be held at Ashland, Catlettsburg, Covington, Frankfort, Jackson, Lexington, London, Pikeville, and Richmond.

Western District

(b) The Western District comprises the counof Adair, Allen, Ballard, Barren, ties Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Breckenridge. Calloway, Carlisle, Casey, Christian, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Jeffer-Larue, Livingston, Logan, Lvon. McCracken, McLean, Marion, Marshall, Meade, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Ohio, Oldham, Russell, Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Union, Warren, Washington, and Webster.

Court for the Western District shall be held at Bowling Green, Louisville, Owensboro, and Paducah.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 880; Pub. L. 95–408, §2(a), Oct. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 883.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §158 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §83, 36 Stat. 1112; Jan. 29, 1920, ch. 57, 41 Stat. 400; June 22, 1936, ch. 707, 49 Stat. 1822).

Last paragraph of section 158 of title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., relating to process, was omitted as covered by Rule 4 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Provisions relating to maintenance of clerk's offices were omitted as covered by sections 452 and 751 of this title.

Provisions for furnishing rooms and accommodations at Lexington and Pikeville were omitted as obsolete on advice of the Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts that Federal accommodations are now available in each of those places.

Words "with the waters thereof," after the list of counties in each district, were omitted as unnecessary and inconsistent with other sections of this chapter.

McCreary County of the Eastern District was formed from parts of the counties of Pulaski, Wayne, and Whitley since the latest amendment of the Judicial Code.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

 $1978\mathrm{--Subsec.}$ (a). Pub. L. 95–408 provided for holding court at Ashland.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1978 AMENDMENT; SAVINGS PROVISION

Amendment by Pub. L. 95–408 effective 180 days after Oct. 2, 1978, with such amendment not to affect the composition or preclude the service of any grand or petit juror summoned, empaneled, or actually serving in any judicial district on the effective date of this Act, see section 5 of Pub. L. 95–408, set out as a note under section 89 of this title.

§ 98. Louisiana

Louisiana is divided into three judicial districts to be known as the Eastern, Middle, and Western Districts of Louisiana.

Eastern District

(a) The Eastern District comprises the parishes of Assumption, Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, Saint Bernard, Saint Charles, Saint James, Saint John the Baptist, Saint Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, and Washington.

Court for the Eastern District shall be held at New Orleans, and Houma.

Middle District

(b) The Middle District comprises the parishes of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, Saint Helena, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana.

Court for the Middle District shall be held at Baton Rouge.

Western District

(c) The Western District comprises the parishes of Acadia, Allen, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, Jefferson Davis, De Soto, East Carroll, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Jackson, Lafayette, La Salle, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, Saint Landry, Saint Martin, Saint Mary, Tensas, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Webster, West Carroll, and Winn.

Court for the Western District shall be held at Alexandria, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Monroe, Opelousas, and Shreveport.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 881; Pub. L. 87–36, §4, May 19, 1961, 75 Stat. 83; Pub. L. 92–208, §3(a), Dec. 18, 1971, 85 Stat. 741; Pub. L. 95–408, §3(a), Oct. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 883; Pub. L. 98–353, title II, §203(b), July 10, 1984, 98 Stat. 350.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., $\S159$ (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, $\S84$, 36 Stat. 1113).

Provisions relating to the maintenance of offices by the clerks were omitted as covered by sections 452 and 751 of this title.

The parishes of Allen, Beauregard, and Jefferson Davis of the Lake Charles Division of the Western District were formed out of part of Calcasieu Parish since the enactment of the Judicial Code.