the fullest cooperation and coordination of activities between the levels of government, and because population growth and scientific developments portend an increasingly complex society in future years, it is essential that an appropriate agency be established to give continuing attention to intergovernmental problems.

It is intended that the Commission, in the performance of its duties, will—

- (1) bring together representatives of the Federal, State, and local governments for the consideration of common problems;
- (2) provide a forum for discussing the administration and coordination of Federal grant and other programs requiring intergovernmental cooperation;
- (3) give critical attention to the conditions and controls involved in the administration of Federal grant programs;
- (4) make available technical assistance to the executive and legislative branches of the Federal Government in the review of proposed legislation to determine its overall effect on the Federal system;
- (5) encourage discussion and study at an early stage of emerging public problems that are likely to require intergovernmental cooperation:
- (6) recommend, within the framework of the Constitution, the most desirable allocation of governmental functions, responsibilities, and revenues among the several levels of government; and
- (7) recommend methods of coordinating and simplifying tax laws and administrative practices to achieve a more orderly and less competitive fiscal relationship between the levels of government and to reduce the burden of compliance for taxpayers.

(Pub. L. 86-380, §2, Sept. 24, 1959, 73 Stat. 703.)

#### CODIFICATION

Section was formerly classified to section 2372 of Title 5 prior to the general revision and enactment of Title 5, Government Organization and Employees, by Pub. L. 89–554, §1, Sept. 6, 1966, 80 Stat. 378.

# § 4273. Membership of Commission; appointment of members; term

## (a) Number of members; appointment; qualifications

The Commission shall be composed of twentysix members, as follows:

- (1) Six appointed by the President of the United States, three of whom shall be officers of the executive branch of the Government, and three private citizens, all of whom shall have had experience or familiarity with relations between the levels of government;
- (2) Three appointed by the President of the Senate, who shall be Members of the Senate;
- (3) Three appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, who shall be Members of the House;
- (4) Four appointed by the President from a panel of at least eight Governors submitted by the Governors' Conference;
- (5) Three appointed by the President from a panel of at least six members of State legislative bodies submitted by the board of managers of the Council of State Governments;

- (6) Four appointed by the President from a panel of at least eight mayors submitted jointly by the National League of Cities and the United States Conference of Mayors; and
- (7) Three appointed by the President from a panel of at least six elected county officers submitted by the National Association of Counties.

#### (b) Political and geographical composition

The members appointed from private life under paragraph (1) of subsection (a) shall be appointed without regard to political affiliation; of each class of members enumerated in paragraphs (2) and (3) of subsection (a), two shall be from the majority party of the respective houses; of each class of members enumerated in paragraphs (4), (5), (6), and (7) of subsection (a), not more than two shall be from any one political party; of each class of members enumerated in paragraphs (5), (6) and (7) of subsection (a), not more than one shall be from any one State; at least two of the appointees under paragraph (6) of subsection (a) shall be from cities under five hundred thousand population.

### (c) Term of office; reappointment; period of service

The term of office of each member of the Commission shall be two years; members shall be eligible for reappointment; and, except as provided in section 4274(d) of this title, members shall serve until their successors are appointed.

(Pub. L. 86–380, §3, Sept. 24, 1959, 73 Stat. 704; Pub. L. 89–733, §§1, 2, Nov. 2, 1966, 80 Stat. 1162.)

#### CODIFICATION

Section was formerly classified to section 2373 of Title 5 prior to the general revision and enactment of Title 5, Government Organization and Employees, by Pub. L. 89–554, §1, Sept. 6, 1966, 80 Stat. 378.

#### AMENDMENTS

1966—Subsec. (a)(6). Pub. L. 89–733,  $\S1$ , substituted "National League of Cities" for "American Municipal Association".

Subsec. (a)(7). Pub. L. 89-733, §1, substituted "National Association of Counties" for "National Association of County Officials".

Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 89-733, §2, inserted provision that members shall serve until their successors are appointed, except as provided in section 4274(d) of this title.

#### § 4274. Organization of Commission

#### (a) Initial meeting

The President shall convene the Commission within ninety days following September 24, 1959 at such time and place as he may designate for the Commission's initial meeting.

#### (b) Chairman and Vice Chairman

The President shall designate a Chairman and a Vice Chairman from among members of the Commission.

### (c) Vacancies in membership

Any vacancy in the membership of the Commission shall be filed in the same manner in which the original appointment was made; except that where the number of vacancies is fewer than the number of members specified in paragraphs (4), (5), (6), and (7) of section 4273(a)