(Pub. L. 87–186, §5, Aug. 30, 1961, 75 Stat. 415.)

SUBCHAPTER XI—WOODROW WILSON INTERNATIONAL CENTER FOR SCHOLARS

§80e. Congressional declaration of policy

The Congress hereby finds and declares-

(1) that a living institution expressing the ideals and concerns of Woodrow Wilson would be an appropriate memorial to his accomplishments as the twenty-eighth President of the United States, a distinguished scholar, an outstanding university president, and a brilliant advocate of international understanding;

(2) that the Woodrow Wilson Memorial Commission, created by joint resolution of Congress, recommended that an International Center for Scholars be constructed in the District of Columbia in the area north of the proposed Market Square as part of the Nation's memorial to Woodrow Wilson;

(3) that such a center, symbolizing and strengthening the fruitful relation between the world of learning and the world of public affairs, would be a suitable memorial to the spirit of Woodrow Wilson; and

(4) that the establishment of such a center would be consonant with the purposes of the Smithsonian Institution, created by Congress in 1846 "for the increase and diffusion of knowledge among men."

(Pub. L. 90-637, §2, Oct. 24, 1968, 82 Stat. 1357.)

SHORT TITLE

Pub. L. 90-637, §1, Oct. 24, 1968, 82 Stat. 1356, provided: "That this Act [enacting this subchapter] may be cited as the 'Woodrow Wilson Memorial Act of 1968'."

§80f. Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars; Board of Trustees of the Center

(a) Establishment

There is hereby established in the Smithsonian Institution a Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars and a Board of Trustees of the Center (hereinafter referred to as the "Center" and the "Board"), whose duties it shall be to maintain and administer the Center and site thereof and to execute such other functions as are vested in the Board by this subchapter.

(b) Composition of Board

The Board of Trustees shall be composed of 17 members as follows:

(1) the Secretary of State;

(2) the Secretary of Health and Human Services;

(3) the Secretary of Education;

(4) the Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities;

(5) the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution;

(6) the Librarian of Congress;

(7) the Archivist of the United States;

(8) one member appointed by the President from time to time from within the Federal Government; and

(9) 9 members appointed by the President from private life.

(c) Appointment of alternate members by members of Board

Each member of the Board of Trustees specified in paragraphs (1) through (8) of subsection (b) may designate another official to serve on the Board of Trustees in his stead.

(d) Terms of office; vacancies; reappointment

Each member of the Board of Trustees appointed under paragraph (10) of subsection (b)shall serve for a term of six years from the expiration of his predecessor's term; except that (1) any trustee appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his predecessor was appointed shall be appointed for the remainder of such term, and (2) the terms of office of the trustees first taking office shall begin on October 24, 1968, and shall expire as designated at the time of appointment, two at the end of two years, three at the end of four years, and three at the end of six years. No trustee of the Board chosen from private life shall be eligible to serve in excess of two consecutive terms, except that a trustee whose term has expired may serve until his successor has qualified.

(e) Chairman and Vice Chairman of Board

The President shall designate a Chairman and a Vice Chairman from among the members of the Board chosen from private life.

(Pub. L. 90-637, §3, Oct. 24, 1968, 82 Stat. 1357; Pub. L. 95-426, title II, §206, Oct. 7, 1978, 92 Stat. 975; Pub. L. 101-268, Apr. 9, 1990, 104 Stat. 132; Pub. L. 105-277, div. G, subdiv. A, title XIII, §1335(i), Oct. 21, 1998, 112 Stat. 2681-788.)

Amendments

1998—Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 105–277, 1335(i)(1)(A), substituted "17" for "19" in introductory provisions.

Subsec. (b)(7) to (10). Pub. L. 105-277, \$1335(i)(1)(B)-(D), redesignated pars. (8) to (10) as (7) to (9), respectively, in par. (9) substituted "9" for "10", and struck out former par. (7) which read as follows: "the Director of the United States Information Agency;".

Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 105–277, §1335(i)(2), substituted "(8)" for "(9)".

1990—Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 101–268, §1, amended subsec. (b) generally. Prior to amendment, subsec. (b) read as follows: "The Board of Trustees shall be composed of sixteen members as follows:

"(1) the Secretary of State;

"(2) the Director of the United States Information Agency;

"(3) the Secretary of Health and Human Services;

"(4) the Chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities;

"(5) the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution;

"(6) the Librarian of Congress;

"(7) the Archivist of the United States;

"(8) one appointed by the President from time to time from within the Federal Government; and

 $``(9) \mbox{ eight appointed by the President from private life.''}$

Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 101-268, §2(1), substituted "(9)" for "(8)".

Subsec. (d). Pub. L. 101-268, §2(2), substituted "(10)" for "(9)".

1978—Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 95-426, 206(a)(1), substituted "sixteen" for "fifteen".

Subsec. (b)(2) to (9). Pub. L. 95-426, 206(a)(2), (3), designated pars. (2) to (8) as (3) to (9), respectively, and added a new par. (2) "the Director of the International Communication Agency".

Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 95-426, §206(b)(1), substituted "(8)" for "(7)".

Subsec. (d). Pub. L. 95–426, 206(b)(2), substituted "(9)" for "(8)".