Sec.

48. Terms of court.

49. Assignment of judges to division to appoint independent counsels.

AMENDMENTS

1983—Pub. L. 97–409, §2(b)(2), Jan. 3, 1983, 96 Stat. 2039, substituted "independent counsels" for "special prosecutors" in item 49.

1978—Pub. L. 95–521, title VI, 602(b), Oct. 26, 1978, 92 Stat. 1874, added item 49.

Pub. L. 95-486, \$5(c), Oct. 20, 1978, 92 Stat. 1633, substituted "panels" for "divisions" in item 46.

§ 41. Number and composition of circuits

The thirteen judicial circuits of the United States are constituted as follows:

Circuits	Composition
District of Columbia	District of Columbia.
First	Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island.
Second	Connecticut, New York, Vermont.
Third	Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virgin Islands.
Fourth	Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia.
Fifth	District of the Canal Zone, Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas.
Sixth	Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Tennessee.
Seventh	Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin.
Eighth	Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota.
Ninth	Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Or- egon, Washington, Guam, Hawaii.
Tenth	Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Utah, Wyoming.
Eleventh Federal	Alabama, Florida, Georgia. All Federal judicial districts.
(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 870; Oct. 31, 1951, ch. 655, §34, 65 Stat. 723; Pub. L. 96–452, §2, Oct. 14, 1980, 94 Stat. 1994; Pub. L. 97–164, title I, §101,	

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C. 1940 ed., §211, and section 864 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., Territories and Insular Possessions (Apr. 12, 1900, ch. 191, §35, 31 Stat. 85; Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §116, 36 Stat. 1131; Jan. 28, 1915, ch. 22, §§1, 2, 38 Stat. 803; Mar. 2, 1917, ch. 145, §42, 39 Stat. 966; Feb. 13, 1925, ch. 229, §§1, 13, 43 Stat. 936, 942; Jan. 31, 1928, ch. 14, §1, 45 Stat. 54; Feb. 28, 1929, ch. 363, §1, 45 Stat. 1346; May 17, 1932, ch. 190, 47 Stat. 158).

Form of section was simplified.

Apr. 2, 1982, 96 Stat. 25.)

The District of Columbia was added as a separate circuit. This is in accord with the decision of the Supreme Court of the United States which held the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia to be a circuit court of appeals within the Transfer Act of Sept. 14, 1922, ch. 305, 42 Stat. 837, incorporated in the Judicial Code as $\S238(a)$, but repealed by act Feb. 13, 1925, ch. 229, $\S13$, 43 Stat. 942. (See Swift and Co. v. U.S., 1928, 48 S.Ct. 311, 276 U.S. 311, 72 L.Ed. 587.)

In recognizing the District of Columbia as a separate circuit, the Supreme Court recently used this language: "** * the eleven circuits forming the single federal judicature * * *". Comm'r. v. Bedford's Estate, 65 S.Ct. 1157, at page 1160, 325 U.S. 283, 89 L.Ed. 611.

See section 17 of title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., providing, "For the purposes of sections 17–23 of this title, the District of Columbia shall be deemed to be a judicial circuit * * *", and act Dec. 23, 1944, ch. 724, 58 Stat. 925, which amended section 215 of title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., incorporated in section 42 of this title. Such amendment provided that for the purposes of said section 215 "the District of Columbia shall be deemed to be a judicial circuit."

Many other acts of Congress have recognized the District of Columbia as a separate circuit. (See the following acts; Aug. 24, 1937, ch. 754, 50 Stat. 751; Feb. 11, 1938, ch. 25, 52 Stat. 28; Aug. 5, 1939, ch. 433, 53 Stat. 1204; Aug. 7, 1939, ch. 501, 53 Stat. 1223; Dec. 29, 1942, ch. 835, 56 Stat. 1094; May 11, 1944, ch. 192, 58 Stat. 218; Dec. 23, 1944, ch. 724, 58 Stat. 925.)

See also the following acts recognizing the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia as a circuit court of appeals: Aug. 15, 1921, ch. 64, 42 Stat. 162; July 5, 1935, ch. 372, 49 Stat. 454; Aug. 24, 1937, ch. 754, 50 Stat. 751; Apr. 6, 1942, ch. 210, 56 Stat. 198; May 9, 1942, ch. 295, 56 Stat. 271. See also Rule 81(d) Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

In the following cases the Supreme Court of the United States has recognized the status of the Court of Appeals of the District of Columbia as a permanent establishment within the federal judicial system: O'Donoghue v. United States, 1933, 53 S.Ct. 740, 289 U.S. 516, 77 L.Ed. 1356; Federal Trade Commission v. Klesner, 1927, 47 S.Ct. 557, 274 U.S. 145, 71 L.Ed. 972; Claiborne-Annapolis Ferry v. United States, 1932, 52 S.Ct. 440, 285 U.S. 382, 76 L.Ed. 808; United States v. California Canneries, 1929, 49 S.Ct. 423, 279 U.S. 553, 73 L.Ed. 838.

Alaska, Canal Zone, and Virgin Islands were added to the 9th, 5th, and 3rd Circuits, respectively, to conform to section 1294 of this title.

Some of the provisions of section 864 of title 48, U.S.C., 1940 ed., have been retained in said title. For those which were incorporated in other sections of this revised title, see Distribution Table.

AMENDMENTS

1982—Pub. L. 97–164 increased number of judicial circuits from twelve to thirteen through addition of Federal circuit composed of all Federal judicial districts.

1980—Pub. L. 96-452 substituted "twelve" for "eleven" in text preceding table, substituted "District of the Canal Zone" for "Alabama, Canal Zone, Florida, Georgia" in item relating to fifth circuit, and added new item relating to eleventh circuit.

1951—Act Oct. 31, 1951, inserted reference to Guam in that part relating to composition of Ninth judicial circuit.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1982 AMENDMENT

Amendment by Pub. L. 97-164 effective Oct. 1, 1982, see section 402 of Pub. L. 97-164, set out as a note under section 171 of this title.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1980 AMENDMENT

Pub. L. 96–452, \$12, Oct. 14, 1980, 94 Stat. 1996, provided that: "This Act and the amendments made by this Act [amending this section and sections 44 and 48 of this title, and enacting provisions set out as notes under this section] shall take effect on October 1, 1981."

TERMINATION OF UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF THE CANAL ZONE

For termination of the United States District Court for the District of the Canal Zone at end of the "transition period", being the 30-month period beginning Oct. 1, 1979, and ending midnight Mar. 31, 1982, see Paragraph 5 of Article XI of the Panama Canal Treaty of 1977 and sections 2101 and 2201 to 2203 of Pub. L. 96–70,