the end of the section, were omitted as covered by section 553 of this title.

Provisions relating to appointment and residence of deputy clerks and deputy marshals and maintenance of offices by such deputies were omitted as covered by sections 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title. Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

1970—Subsec. (b)(1). Pub. L. 91-272 provided for holding court at Traverse City.

1964—Subsec. (a). Pub. L. 88-627 transferred counties of Genesee and Shiawassee from Northern Division to Southern Division, added Ann Arbor and Flint as places of court for Southern Division, and struck out Flint as a place for holding court.

1961—Subsec. (b)(1). Pub. L. 87-36 provided for holding court at Lansing instead of Mason.

1954—Subsec. (a)(1). Act Feb. 10, 1954, \$2(b)(8)(a), struck out counties of Branch, Calhoun, Clinton, Hillsdale, and Ingham, with respect to Southern Division of Eastern District.

Subsec. (a)(2). Act Feb. 10, 1954, §2(b)(8)(b), substituted "Flint" for "Port Huron", as a place for holding court.

Subsec. (b)(1). Act Feb. 10, 1954, §2(b)(8)(c), inserted a reference to counties of Branch, Calhoun, Clinton, Hillsdale, and Ingham, with respect to composition of Southern Division of the Western District, and provided for holding court at Kalamazoo and Mason.

§ 103. Minnesota

Minnesota constitutes one judicial district comprising six divisions.

- (1) The First Division comprises the counties of Dodge, Fillmore, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Steele, Wabasha, and Winona.
- Court for the First Division shall be held at Winona.
- (2) The Second Division comprises the counties of Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Faribault, Freeborn, Jackson, Lac qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lincoln, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Rock, Sibley, Waseca, Watonwan, and Yellow Medicine.
- Court for the Second Division shall be held at Mankato.
- (3) The Third Division comprises the counties of Chisago, Dakota, Goodhue, Ramsey, Rice, Scott, and Washington.
- Court for the Third Division shall be held at Saint Paul
- (4) The Fourth Division comprises the counties of Anoka, Carver, Chippewa, Hennepin, Isanti, Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, Renville, Sherburne, Swift, and Wright.
- Court for the Fourth Division shall be held at Minneapolis.
- (5) The Fifth Division comprises the counties of Aitkin, Benton, Carlton, Cass, Cook, Crow Wing, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, and Saint Louis.
- Court for the Fifth Division shall be held at Duluth.
- (6) The Sixth Division comprises the counties of Becker, Beltrami, Big Stone, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stearns, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, and Wilkin.

Court for the Sixth Division shall be held at Fergus Falls and Bemidji.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 882; Pub. L. 110–406, §18, Oct. 13, 2008, 122 Stat. 4295.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §169 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §89, 36 Stat. 1115; Apr. 10, 1926, ch. 113, 44 Stat. 238).

Provisions relating to the appointment and residence of deputy clerks and the maintenance of offices by them were omitted as covered by section 751 of this title.

The counties of Pennington and Lake of the Woods, in the Sixth Division, were created since the enactment of the Judicial Code.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

AMENDMENTS

 $2008\mathrm{-Par.}$ (6). Pub. L. 110–406 inserted "and Bemidji" after "Fergus Falls".

§ 104. Mississippi

Mississippi is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the northern and southern districts of Mississippi.

Northern District

- (a) The northern district comprises three divisions.
 - (1) The Aberdeen Division comprises the counties of Alcorn, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Prentiss, Tishomingo, Webster, and Winston.
 - Court for the Aberdeen Division shall be held at Aberdeen, Ackerman, and Corinth
 - (2) The Oxford Division comprises the counties of Benton, Calhoun, DeSoto, Lafayette, Marshall, Panola, Pontotoc, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tunica, Union, and Yalobusha.
 - Court for the Oxford Division shall be held at Oxford.
 - (3) The Greenville Division comprises the counties of Attala, Bolivar, Carroll, Coahoma, Grenada, Humphreys, Leflore, Montgomery, Sunflower, and Washington.
 - Court for the Greenville Division shall be held at Clarksdale, Cleveland, and Greenville.

Southern District

- (b) The southern district comprises four divisions.
 - (1) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Copiah, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Kemper, Lauderdale, Leake, Madison, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Sharkey, Smith, Warren, and Yazoo.
 - Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Jackson.
 - (2) The Southern Division comprises the counties of George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River, and Stone.
 - Court for the Southern Division shall be held at Gulfport.