faction of rights of litigants in suits before such courts, shall not be effective until three years after the effective date of this Act [see section 8(b) of Pub. L. 85–508, set out as a note preceding section 21 of Title 48, Territories and Insular Possessions], unless the President, by Executive order, shall sooner proclaim that the United States District Court for the District of Alaska, established in accordance with the provisions of this Act, is prepared to assume the functions imposed upon it. During such period of three years or until such Executive order is issued, the United States District Court for the Territory of Alaska shall continue to function as heretofore. The tenure of the judges, the United States attorneys, marshals, and other officers of the United States District Court for the Territory of Alaska shall terminate at such time as that court shall cease to function as provided in this section."

SCHEDULE OF FEES, MILEAGE, OR OTHER COMPENSATION

Pub. L. 86-70, §23(c), June 25, 1959, 73 Stat. 147, provided that: "Such authority as has been exercised by the Attorney General heretofore, with regard to the Federal court system in Alaska, pursuant to section 30 of the Act of June 6, 1900 (48 U.S.C. 25) shall continue to be exercised by him after the court created by section 12(b) of the Act of July 7, 1958 (72 Stat. 339, 348) [this section], providing for the admission of the State of Alaska into the Union, is established."

EX. ORD. NO. 10867. ASSUMPTION OF FUNCTIONS BY UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR DISTRICT OF ALASKA

Ex. Ord. No. 10867, Feb. 20, 1960, 25 F.R. 1584, provided: WHEREAS the act of July 7, 1958, 72 Stat. 339 [set out as a note preceding section 21 of Title 48, Territories and Insular Possessions], relating to the admission of the State of Alaska into the Union, provides that the United States District Court for the Territory of Alaska shall continue to function as theretofore for a period of three years after the effective date of that act, unless the President, by Executive order, shall sooner proclaim that the United States District Court for the District of Alaska, established in accordance with the provisions of that act, is prepared to assume the functions imposed upon it; and

WHEREAS that act further provides that its provisions relating to the termination of the jurisdiction of the District Court for the Territory of Alaska, the continuation of suits, the succession of courts, and the satisfaction of the rights of litigants in suits before such courts shall not be effective until the expiration of the above-mentioned three-year period or until such Executive order is issued; and that the tenure of the judges, the United States Attorneys, Marshals, and other officers of the United States District Court for the Territory of Alaska shall terminate at such time as that court shall cease to function; and

WHEREAS, I have appointed, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, and commissioned the Honorable Walter N. Hodge to be United States District Judge for the District of Alaska, and he has taken his oath of office; and WHEREAS Judge Hodge has appointed an acting

WHEREAS Judge Hodge has appointed an acting United States Attorney, an acting United States Marshal, and other court officers; and

WHEREAS the United States District Court for the District of Alaska is now prepared to assume the functions imposed upon it:

NOW, THEREFORE, by virtue of the authority vested in me by section 18 of the said act of July 7, 1958 [set out above], I hereby proclaim that the United States District Court for the District of Alaska is prepared to assume the functions imposed upon it. Accordingly, the jurisdiction of the District Court for the Territory of Alaska and the tenure of the judges, the United States Attorneys, Marshals, and other officers of that court are now terminated.

DWIGHT D. EISENHOWER.

§82. Arizona

Arizona constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Flagstaff, Globe, Phoenix, Prescott, Tucson, and Yuma.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 874; Pub. L. 116-40, §1, Aug. 9, 2019, 133 Stat. 1063.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §143 (June 20, 1910, ch. 310, §31, 36 Stat. 576; Oct. 3, 1913, ch. 17, §§1, 2, 38 Stat. 203).

A provision for transfer of causes, civil or criminal, from one place for holding court to another was omitted. Such provision, as to civil cases, is covered by section 1404 of this title, and, as to criminal cases, is rendered unnecessary because of inherent power of the court and Rules 18-20 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, relating to venue.

A provision for making an interlocutory order at any place designated for holding court was omitted as unnecessary in view of Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, rule 77(b).

A provision requiring the clerk to keep his office at the State capital was omitted as covered by section 751 of this title.

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

Amendments

2019—Pub. L. 116-40 substituted "Flagstaff, Globe, Phoenix, Prescott, Tucson, and Yuma" for "Globe, Phoenix, Prescott, and Tucson".

§83. Arkansas

Arkansas is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Eastern and Western Districts of Arkansas.

Eastern District

(a) The Eastern District comprises three divisions.

- The Central Division comprises the counties of Cleburne, Cleveland, Conway, Dallas, Drew, Faulkner, Grant, Jefferson, Lincoln, Lonoke, Perry, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Saline, Stone, Van Buren, White, and Yell.
- Court for the Central Division shall be held at Little Rock.
- (2) The Delta Division comprises the counties of Arkansas, Chicot, Crittenden, Desha, Lee, Monroe, Phillips, and St. Francis.
- Court for the Delta Division shall be held at Helena.
- (3) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Clay, Craighead, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Mississippi, Poinsett, Randolph, Sharp, and Woodruff.
- Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Jonesboro.

Western District

(b) The Western District comprises six divisions.

- (1) The Texarkana Division comprises the counties of Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Nevada, and Sevier.
- Court for the Texarkana Division shall be held at Texarkana, and may be held anywhere within the Federal courthouse in Texarkana that is located astride the State line between Texas and Arkansas.