ment positions within Office of Naval Petroleum and Oil Shale Reserves in Department of Energy and to position of Director.

§7157. Transfers from Department of Commerce

There are transferred to, and vested in, the Secretary all functions of the Secretary of Commerce, the Department of Commerce, and officers and components of that Department, as relate to or are utilized by the Office of Energy Programs, but limited to industrial energy conservation programs.

(Pub. L. 95-91, title III, §308, Aug. 4, 1977, 91 Stat. 581.)

§7158. Naval reactor and military application programs

The Division of Naval Reactors established pursuant to section 2035 of this title, and responsible for research, design, development, health, and safety matters pertaining to naval nuclear propulsion plants and assigned civilian power reactor programs is transferred to the Department under the Under Secretary for Nuclear Security, and such organizational unit shall be deemed to be an organizational unit established by this chapter.

(Pub. L. 95-91, title III, §309, Aug. 4, 1977, 91 Stat. 581; Pub. L. 106-65, div. C, title XXXII, §3294(c), Oct. 5, 1999, 113 Stat. 970.)

References in Text

This chapter, referred to in text, was in the original "this Act", meaning Pub. L. 95–91, Aug. 4, 1977, 91 Stat. 565, as amended, known as the Department of Energy Organization Act, which is classified principally to this chapter. For complete classification of this Act to the Code, see Short Title note set out under section 7101 of this title and Tables.

AMENDMENTS

1999—Pub. L. 106-65 struck out subsec. (a) designation before "The Division of Naval Reactors", substituted "Under Secretary for Nuclear Security" for "Assistant Secretary to whom the Secretary has assigned the function listed in section 7133(a)(2)(E) of this title", and struck out subsec. (b) which read as follows: "The Division of Military Application, established by section 2035 of this title, and the functions of the Energy Research and Development Administration with respect to the Military Liaison Committee, established by section 2037 of this title, are transferred to the Department under the Assistant Secretary to whom the Secretary has assigned those functions listed in section 7133(a)(5) of this title, and such organizational units shall be deemed to be organizational units established by this chapter.

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1999 AMENDMENT

Amendment by Pub. L. 106-65 effective Mar. 1, 2000, see section 3299 of Pub. L. 106-65, set out as an Effective Date note under section 2401 of Title 50, War and National Defense.

TRANSFER OF FUNCTIONS

All national security functions and activities performed immediately before Oct. 5, 1999, by the Office of Naval Reactors transferred to the Administrator for Nuclear Security of the National Nuclear Security Administration of the Department of Energy, and the Deputy Administrator for Naval Reactors of the Administration to be assigned the responsibilities, authorities, and accountability for all functions of the Office of Naval Reactors under Executive Order No. 12344,

set out as a note under section 2511 of Title 50, War and National Defense, see sections 2406 and 2481 of Title 50.

Pub. L. 98–525, title XVI, §1634, Oct. 19, 1984, 98 Stat. 2649, which was formerly set out as a note under this section, was renumbered section 4101 of Pub. L. 107–314, the Bob Stump National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2003, by Pub. L 108–136, div. C, title XXXI, §3141(d)(2), Nov. 24, 2003, 117 Stat. 1757, and is set out as a note under section 2511 of Title 50, War and National Defense.

§ 7159. Transfer to Department of Transportation

Notwithstanding section 7151(a) of this title, there are transferred to, and vested in, the Secretary of Transportation all of the functions vested in the Administrator of the Federal Energy Administration by section 6361(b)(1)(B) of this title.

(Pub. L. 95–91, title III, §310, Aug. 4, 1977, 91 Stat. 582.)

SUBCHAPTER IV—FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

§ 7171. Appointment and administration

(a) Federal Energy Regulatory Commission; establishment

There is established within the Department an independent regulatory commission to be known as the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

(b) Composition; term of office; conflict of interest; expiration of terms

- (1) The Commission shall be composed of five members appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. One of the members shall be designated by the President as Chairman. Members shall hold office for a term of 5 years and may be removed by the President only for inefficiency, neglect of duty, or malfeasance in office. Not more than three members of the Commission shall be members of the same political party. Any Commissioner appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his predecessor was appointed shall be appointed only for the remainder of such term. A Commissioner may continue to serve after the expiration of his term until his successor is appointed and has been confirmed and taken the oath of Office, except that such Commissioner shall not serve beyond the end of the session of the Congress in which such term expires. Members of the Commission shall not engage in any other business, vocation, or employment while serving on the Commission.
- (2) Notwithstanding the third sentence of paragraph (1), the terms of members first taking office after April 11, 1990, shall expire as follows:
 - (A) In the case of members appointed to succeed members whose terms expire in 1991, one such member's term shall expire on June 30, 1994, and one such member's term shall expire on June 30, 1995, as designated by the President at the time of appointment.
 - (B) In the case of members appointed to succeed members whose terms expire in 1992, one such member's term shall expire on June 30, 1996, and one such member's term shall expire on June 30, 1997, as designated by the President at the time of appointment.