(I) The Secretary of Education.

(II) The Director of the National Institutes of Health.

(III) The Director of the National Science Foundation.

(IV) The Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

(V) The Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy.

(Pub. L. 103-382, title V, §515, Oct. 20, 1994, 108 Stat. 4042.)

§7382d. Fellowship awards

(a) Fellowship recipient compensation

Each recipient of a fellowship under this subchapter shall be paid during the fellowship period at a rate of pay that shall not exceed the minimum annual rate payable for a position under GS-13 of the General Schedule.

(b) Local educational agency

The Secretary shall seek to ensure that no local educational agency penalizes a teacher who elects to participate in the Program.

(Pub. L. 103-382, title V, §516, Oct. 20, 1994, 108 Stat. 4044.)

References in Text

The General Schedule, referred to in subsec. (a), is set out under section 5332 of Title 5, Government Organization and Employees.

§7382e. Waste management education research consortium (WERC)

(a)¹ In general

The Secretary is authorized to establish a partnership of Department of Energy laboratories, academic institutions, and private sector industries to conduct environmentally-related education programs, including programs involving environmentally conscious manufacturing and waste management activities that have undergraduate and graduate educational training as a component.

(Pub. L. 103-382, title V, §517, Oct. 20, 1994, 108 Stat. 4044.)

§7382f. Authorization of appropriations

(a) In general

There are authorized to be appropriated for the Program \$700,000 for fiscal year 1995, and such sums as may be necessary for each of the four succeeding fiscal years.

(b) WERC program

There are authorized to be appropriated for the WERC program under section 7382e of this title such sums as may be necessary for fiscal year 1995 and each of the four succeeding fiscal years.

(Pub. L. 103-382, title V, §518, Oct. 20, 1994, 108 Stat. 4044.)

SUBCHAPTER XV—MATTERS RELATING TO SAFEGUARDS, SECURITY, AND COUNTER-INTELLIGENCE

CODIFICATION

This subchapter was enacted as part of subtitle D (§§ 3141-3156) of title XXXI of div. C of the National De-

fense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2000, known as the Department of Energy Facilities Safeguards, Security, and Counterintelligence Enhancement Act of 1999, and not as part of the Department of Energy Organization Act which comprises this chapter.

§ 7383. Commission on Safeguards, Security, and Counterintelligence at Department of Energy Facilities

(a) Establishment

There is hereby established a commission to be known as the Commission on Safeguards, Security, and Counterintelligence at Department of Energy Facilities (in this section referred to as the "Commission").

(b) Membership and organization

(1) The Commission shall be composed of nine members appointed from among individuals in the public and private sectors who have significant experience in matters related to the security of nuclear weapons and materials, the classification of information, or counterintelligence matters, as follows:

(A) Two shall be appointed by the chairman of the Committee on Armed Services of the Senate, in consultation with the ranking member of that Committee.

(B) One shall be appointed by the ranking member of the Committee on Armed Services of the Senate, in consultation with the chairman of that Committee.

(C) Two shall be appointed by the chairman of the Committee on Armed Services of the House of Representatives, in consultation with the ranking member of that Committee.

(D) One shall be appointed by the ranking member of the Committee on Armed Services of the House of Representatives, in consultation with the chairman of that Committee.

(E) One shall be appointed by the Secretary of Defense.

(F) One shall be appointed by the Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

(G) One shall be appointed by the Director of Central Intelligence.

(2) Members of the Commission shall be appointed for four year terms, except as follows:

(A) One member initially appointed under paragraph (1)(A) shall serve a term of two years, to be designated at the time of appointment.

(B) One member initially appointed under paragraph (1)(C) shall serve a term of two years, to be designated at the time of appointment.

(C) The member initially appointed under paragraph (1)(E) shall serve a term of two years.

(3) Any vacancy in the Commission shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment and shall not affect the powers of the Commission.

(4)(A) After five members of the Commission have been appointed under paragraph (1), the chairman of the Committee on Armed Services of the Senate, in consultation with the chairman of the Committee on Armed Services of the House of Representatives, shall designate the chairman of the Commission from among the members appointed under paragraph (1)(A).

¹So in original. No subsec. (b) has been enacted.