Sec

## **Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries**

#### EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1986 AMENDMENT

Amendment by Pub. L. 99-554 effective 30 days after Oct. 27, 1986, see section 302(a) of Pub. L. 99-554, set out as a note under section 581 of this title.

# EFFECTIVE DATE

Section effective Oct. 26, 1978, see section 604 of Pub. L. 95-521, set out as a note under section 591 of this title.

# CHAPTER 5-DISTRICT COURTS

Sec. 81. Alabama. 81A. Alaska. 82. Arizona. 83. Arkansas. 84. California. 85. Colorado. 86 Connecticut. 87. Delaware. 88 District of Columbia. 89. Florida. 90 Georgia. 91. Hawaii. 92. Idaho. 93. Illinois. 94. Indiana. 95. Iowa. 96. Kansas. 97. Kentucky. 98. Louisiana. 99. Maine. 100. Maryland. 101. Massachusetts. 102. Michigan. 103. Minnesota. Mississippi. 104. Missouri. 105. 106. Montana. 107. Nebraska. 108 Nevada 109. New Hampshire. New Jersev. 110. 111. New Mexico. New York. 112. North Carolina. 113.114 North Dakota. 115. Ohio. 116. Oklahoma. 117. Oregon. 118. Pennsylvania. 119. Puerto Rico. 120. Rhode Island. 121. South Carolina. 122. South Dakota. 123. Tennessee. 124. Texas. 125. Utah. Vermont. 126. 127. Virginia. 128. Washington. 129. West Virginia. 130. Wisconsin. 131. Wyoming. 132. Creation and composition of district courts. 133. Appointment and number of district judges. 134. Tenure and residence of district judges. 135. Salaries of district judges. 136.Chief judges; precedence of district judges. Division of business among district judges. 137. Terms abolished. 138. 139. Times for holding regular sessions. 140. Adjournment. Special sessions; places; notice. 141

[142. Repealed.]

- 143. Vacant judgeship as affecting proceedings.
- 144. Bias or prejudice of judge.

### HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Sections 81–131 of this chapter show the territorial composition of districts and divisions by counties as of January 1, 1945. All references to dates were omitted as unnecessary.

All references to fixed terms of holding court were also omitted in order to vest in each district court a wider discretion and greater flexibility in the disposition of its business. Such times will now be determined by rule of court rather than by statute. See sections 138 and 141 of this title.

# **Editorial Notes**

#### Amendments

1982—Pub. L. 97-164, title I, 15(c)(3), Apr. 2, 1982, 96 Stat. 32, struck out item 142 "Accommodations at places for holding court".

1963—Pub. L. 88–139, §3(a), Oct. 16, 1963, 77 Stat. 248, substituted "Terms abolished" for "Times for holding regular terms" in item 138, "Times for holding regular sessions" for "Term continued until terminated" in item 139, and "sessions" for "terms" in item 141.

1958—Pub. L. 85-508, §12(a), July 7, 1958, 72 Stat. 348, added item 81A.

### **Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries**

SHORT TITLE OF 1978 AMENDMENT

For short title of Pub. L. 95-408, Oct. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 883, as "Federal District Court Organization Act of 1978", see note set out under section 1 of this title.

# §81. Alabama

Alabama is divided into three judicial districts to be known as the Northern, Middle, and Southern Districts of Alabama.

### Northern District

(a) The Northern District comprises seven divisions.

- (1) The Northwestern Division comprises the counties of Colbert, Franklin, and Lauderdale.
- Court for the Northwestern Division shall be held at Florence.
- (2) The Northeastern Division comprises the counties of Cullman, Jackson, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, and Morgan.
- Court for the Northeastern Division shall be held at Huntsville and Decatur.
- (3) The Southern Division comprises the counties of Blount, Jefferson, and Shelby.
- Court for the Southern Division shall be held at Birmingham.
- (4) The Eastern Division comprises the counties of Calhoun, Clay, Cleburne, and Talladega.
- Court for the Eastern Division shall be held at Anniston.
- (5) The Western Division comprises the counties of Bibb, Greene, Pickens, Sumter, and Tuscaloosa.
- Court for the Western Division shall be held at Tuscaloosa.
- (6) The Middle Division comprises the counties of Cherokee, De Kalb, Etowah, Marshall, and Saint Clair.
- Court for the Middle Division shall be held at Gadsden.
- (7) The Jasper Division comprises the counties of Fayette, Lamar, Marion, Walker, and Winston.