Editorial Notes

AMENDMENTS

1988—Pub. L. 100–702 amended section generally. Prior to amendment, section provided that Maryland constituted one judicial district and that court be held at Baltimore, Cumberland, Denton, and at a suitable site in Prince Georges County not more than five miles from the boundary of Montgomery and Prince Georges Counties

1970—Pub. L. 91-546 added a suitable site in Prince Georges County not more than five miles from the boundary of Montgomery and Prince Georges Counties to the list of enumerated places for holding court in Maryland.

Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1988 AMENDMENT

Pub. L. 100-487, §2, Oct. 14, 1988, 102 Stat. 2431, provided that:

"(a) IN GENERAL.—This Act and the amendments made by this Act [amending this section] shall take effect 180 days after the date of the enactment of this Act [Oct. 14, 1988].

"(b) PENDING CASES NOT AFFECTED.—This Act and the amendments made by this Act shall not affect any action commenced before the effective date of this Act and pending in the United States District Court for the District of Maryland on such date.

"(c) JURIES NOT AFFECTED.—This Act and the amendments made by this Act shall not affect the composition, or preclude the service, of any grand or petit jury summoned, empaneled, or actually serving in the Judicial District of Maryland on the effective date of this Act."

§ 101. Massachusetts

Massachusetts constitutes one judicial district.

Court shall be held at Boston, New Bedford, Springfield, and Worcester.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 882.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §167 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §87, 36 Stat. 1114; May 1, 1922, ch. 173, 42 Stat. 503; May 17, 1926, ch. 306, 44 Stat. 559).

Words "and the terms at Boston shall not be terminated or affected by the terms at Springfield, New Bedford, or Worcester," were omitted as covered by section 138 of this title.

Provisions relating to appointment of deputy clerks and deputy marshals, and maintenance of office by said deputies were omitted as covered by sections 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title.

Provisions for furnishing rooms and accommodations at Springfield and Worcester were omitted as obsolete upon advice of Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts that federal accommodations have been provided at such places.

A provision requiring the return of all process to the terms at Boston and the keeping of all court papers in the clerk's office at Boston, unless otherwise specially ordered by the court, was omitted, since such matters can be regulated more appropriately by court rule or order. See Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4(g).

The provision respecting court accommodations at New Bedford was omitted as covered by section 142 of this title

Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

§ 102. Michigan

Michigan is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Eastern and Western Districts of Michigan.

Eastern District

- (a) The Eastern District comprises two divisions.
 - (1) The Southern Division comprises the counties of Genesee, Jackson, Lapeer, Lenawee, Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, Saint Clair, Sanilac, Shiawassee, Washtenaw, and Wayne.

Court for the Southern Division shall be held at Ann Arbor, Detroit, Flint, and Port Huron.

(2) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Alcona, Alpena, Arenac, Bay, Cheboygan, Clare, Crawford, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Isabella, Midland, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, and Tuscola.

Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Bay City.

Western District

- (b) The Western District comprises two divisions.
 - (1) The Southern Division comprises the counties of Allegan, Antrim, Barry, Benzie, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Charlevoix, Clinton, Eaton, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Hillsdale, Ingham, Ionia, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Kent, Lake, Leelanau, Manistee, Mason, Mecosta, Missaukee, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, Ottawa, Saint Joseph, Van Buren, and Wexford.

Court for the Southern Division shall be held at Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, and Traverse City.

(2) The Northern Division comprises the counties of Alger, Baraga, Chippewa, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon, and Schoolcraft.

Court for the Northern Division shall be held at Marquette and Sault Sainte Marie.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 882; Feb. 10, 1954, ch. 6 §2(b)(8), 68 Stat. 11; Pub. L. 87–36, §3(d), May 19, 1961, 75 Stat. 83; Pub. L. 88–627, Oct. 6, 1964, 78 Stat. 1003; Pub. L. 91–272, §11, June 2, 1970, 84 Stat. 298.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §168 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §88, 36 Stat. 1114; July 9, 1912, ch. 222, 37 Stat. 190; Mar. 31, 1930, ch. 101, 46 Stat. 138).

Provisions of section 168 of title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., relating to venue, were omitted as covered by section 1391 et seq. of this title.

A provision for a special or adjourned term at Bay City for the hearing of admiralty cases, beginning in February of each year, was omitted. Adequate provision is made for such terms by section 141 of this title.

Words "and mileage on service of process in said northern division shall be computed from Bay City," at the end of the section, were omitted as covered by section 553 of this title.

Provisions relating to appointment and residence of deputy clerks and deputy marshals and maintenance of offices by such deputies were omitted as covered by sections 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title. Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.