Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 117–26, §1(a)(2), added subsec. (b) and struck out former subsec. (b) which read as follows: "The Middle District comprises the counties of Alamance, Cabarrus, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Davie, Durham (excluding that portion of Durham County encompassing the Federal Correctional Institution, Butner, North Carolina), Forsythe, Guilford, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, and Yadkin." Amendment directing striking out subsec. (b) was executed only to the first paragraph and not the concluding sentence, to reflect the probable intent of Congress.

1992—Subsec. (a). Pub. L. 102–272, which directed the amendment of subsec. (a) by striking out "Clinton," and "Washington," and inserting "Greenville," after "Fayetteville,", was executed to the second sentence to reflect the probable intent of Congress.

1980—Subsec. (a). Pub. L. 96-462, §5(a), added that portion of Durham County encompassing the Federal Correctional Institution, Butner, North Carolina to the Eastern District.

Subsec. (b). Pub. L. 96-462, §5(b), struck out references to Alleghany, Ashe, Watauga, and Wilkes counties in the list of counties comprising the Middle District; inserted "(excluding that portion of Durham County encompassing the Federal Correctional Institution, Butner, North Carolina)" in first sentence as the probable intent of Congress; and struck out Rockingham, Salisbury, and Wilkesboro as places for holding court.

Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 96-462, $\S5(c),$ added Alleghany, Ashe, Watauga, and Wilkes counties to the Western District.

 $1965{\rm --}{\rm Pub.}$ L. $89{\rm --}319$ provided for holding court at Clinton.

Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 2021 AMENDMENT

Pub. L. 117-26, §1(b), July 6, 2021, 135 Stat. 299, provided that "The amendments made by subsection (a) [amending this section] shall not apply to any action commenced or pending in any judicial district of North Carolina before the date of enactment of this Act [July 6, 2021]."

EFFECTIVE DATE OF 1980 AMENDMENT; SAVINGS PROVISIONS

Amendment by Pub. L. 96-462 effective Oct. 1, 1981, but not to affect the composition or preclude the service of any grand or petit juror summoned, empaneled, or actually serving in any judicial district on Oct. 1, 1981, see section 7 of Pub. L. 96-462, set out as a note under section 84 of this title.

Pub. L. 96-462, §5(d), Oct. 15, 1980, 94 Stat. 2054, provided that: "The amendments made by this section [amending this section] shall not apply to any action commenced before the effective date of such amendments [Oct. 1, 1981] and pending in any judicial district of North Carolina on such date."

§114. North Dakota

North Dakota constitutes one judicial district. Court shall be held at Bismarck, Fargo, Grand Forks, and Minot.

(Added Pub. L. 111-174, §3, May 27, 2010, 124 Stat. 1216.)

Editorial Notes

PRIOR PROVISIONS

A prior section 114, act June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 886; Pub. L. 95-408, §3(b), Oct. 2, 1978, 92 Stat. 883, which provided that North Dakota consisted of one judicial district comprising four divisions, was repealed by Pub. L. 111-174, §3, May 27, 2010, 124 Stat. 1216.

§115. Ohio

Ohio is divided into two judicial districts to be known as the Northern and Southern Districts of Ohio.

Northern District

(a) The Northern District comprises two divisions.

- The Eastern Division comprises the counties of Ashland, Ashtabula, Carroll, Columbiana, Crawford, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Holmes, Lake, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Richland, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas, and Wayne.
- Court for the Eastern Division shall be held at Cleveland, Youngstown, and Akron.
- (2) The Western Division comprises the counties of Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Huron, Lucas, Marion, Mercer, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, Woods, and Wyandot.
- Court for the Western Division shall be held at Lima and Toledo.

Southern District

(b) The Southern District comprises two divisions.

- The Western Division comprises the counties of Adams, Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Darke, Greene, Hamilton, Highland, Lawrence, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Scioto, Shelby, and Warren.
- Court for the Western Division shall be held at Cincinnati and Dayton.
- (2) The Eastern Division comprises the counties of Athens, Belmont, Coshocton, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Union, Vinton, and Washington.
- Court for the Eastern Division shall be held at Columbus¹ St. Clairsville, and Steubenville.

(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 887; Feb. 10, 1954, ch. 6, §2(b)(9), 68 Stat. 11; Pub. L. 107-273, div. C,

title I, §11021, Nov. 2, 2002, 116 Stat. 1829.)

HISTORICAL AND REVISION NOTES

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., §181 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, §100, 36 Stat. 1121; Mar. 4, 1915, ch. 159, 38 Stat. 1187; Feb. 14, 1923, ch. 78, 42 Stat. 1246).

Other provisions of said section 181 of title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., are incorporated in section 1865 of this title.

Provisions relating to the place of institution or trial of prosecutions and civil actions and transfer thereof were omitted. Such provisions, as to civil cases, are covered by section 1391 et seq. of this title, and as to criminal cases, are rendered unnecessary because of inherent power of the court and Rules 18-20 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure relating to venue.

The provision respecting court accommodations at Lima was omitted as covered by section 142 of this title.

¹So in original. Probably should be followed by a comma.